Fifty Percent Chance of Rain


Bill 3
Last night’s sunset on the other side of town from us

This morning we got up and got ready for church as usual.  Dannye has an ear infection, so I wasn’t positive she would be able to go this morning, but she was the first one up.  As we got ready, I was noticing that she was really have to try hard to keep going.  I was having a hard time, too. 

Well, we got into our Sunday best, and climbed into Dan’s truck.  As we headed down the road to church, we saw a black, black sky up ahead of us.  As we continued on, rain began dropping, then showering, then pelting the windshield.  We were so excited!  We haven’t had rain at our house in months. 

We stopped at McDonald’s to get me a Diet Coke and Bill & Dan a breakfast sandwich, thankful for the awnings that prevented the beautiful rain from coming in on us at the drive-through.  I looked at my quickly fading Dannye Reigh, and just decided I’d ask.  “Do you want to go home?”  She said she really did, and Bill said that was okay, so we got our order and headed back home.  I’ll admit I was looking forward to getting into my lounging clothes, sitting in my office, and watching it rain. 

As we drove back home, the rain lessened the closer we got, but we had high hopes that it would follow us there.  We arrived home, changed our clothes, and watched a sermon by Dr. Adrian Rogers (one of my FAVORITE pastor/preachers) – and watched the darkening sky for rain.

Soooooo…..it never came!  Not one drop!  The wind picked up.  The trees were rustling.  The windmill was spinning vigorously.  The sky became blacker and blacker.  Then became lighter and lighter.  Then bluer and bluer.  And the sun peeked through.  Not one sprinkle of rain ever hit our dry, dusty yard!

I was begging the Lord to give us at least a little rain, but mostly I was (am) hoping that the area where the wildfires are would received a good soaking.  Flare ups are still happening occasionally, and hotspots are everywhere in the burned areas.  I don’t know if it rained over in that direction, but I pray it did.

We still have chances of rain all this week, so perhaps our yard will get some badly needed watering another day.  I felt the Lord reminding me that He is good all the time – even when it doesn’t rain, and I was flooded with peace and joy that it is true.  God is good all the time.  All the time, God is good!

Family Shoot 7
A little snippet of the goodness of God to this Nonnie!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fifty Percent Chance of Rain

  1. I want to send some of our rain to you! It’s a misty, drizzly day, and your flowers would love it. And that boy…oh, for heaven’s sake. Kiss, kiss!

  2. He’s a charmer, that’s for sure.  He makes me want to smile just looking at him!  And may God bless you and yours with rain!  We had so little over the summer, but now have gotten over ten inches.  I think that is why my garden things are coming back!  They have a new lease on life since getting a good, long drink.  We have had more fires, but nothing out of control.  I still think that fire is one of the most scary things to contend with.  It has to be a blessed relief to have the fires contained.  Good post.

  3. redladybug18 says:

    It rained her last night and I’m not sure how much we got…definitely not much but it was so nice to wake up to a foggy morning…something I haven’t seen in ages!   Man, you’ve got such a cute grandson!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 –@Buckeyegirlie –  @redladybug18 – It rained here last night!  A wonderful, loud thunderstorm around 3:00am.  It rained a little while, and while we desperately need more, I was sooooo very thankful!My grandson is definitely adorable!  He goes full blast, and most of the time with that adorable smile on his face!

Leave a Reply

