Slow Shift


 Candle 2  

My days are beginning to take on a pattern.  Sundays at church are a weekly occurance rather than the sporatic event it had become while caring for Mama and Daddy.  Initially, we made it to morning worship, then went to lunch with the group that always goes to the Mexican Food Restaurant, then wearily drove home.  It has taken five months to build up our stamina for making it to Sunday School, and then staying all the way through the afternoon service! 

[Most of you know that our afternoon service is early so that the families that drive quite a distance (like us!) can come, stay for all services and activities, and go home early-ish.  The church has provided a place for families to have lunch if they choose to eat there.  You should see “crock-pot row” – it’s amazing!  For those who’d rather go out to lunch, there are some fast food places and better restaurants nearby.  Some find our way of doing Sundays less than relaxing, but I have found that we are a close-knit congregation because we have time to really visit with each other.  If I simply need to rest, I have been known to nap in the car after lunch, before p.m. service!] 

 Well, anyway, we are all beginning to feel more accustomed to the Sunday schedule, and are taking more of a part in the routine.  I’m back on the Special Music schedule, Bill is taking his turn at Scripture reading, and Dannye is helping with the fellowships that are regularly on the schedule!  We missed last Sunday, and all of us are eager to get back on track!

Candle 1

Mondays are hopefully laundry and housekeeping day, but often turn out to be recuperation day from long weekends!  Ideally, Dan and I sleep in, but then get a move-on with the chores.  We try very hard to keep Monday open so we have a specified HOME day during the week. 

Tuesday is Family Day.  None of us kids were sure if this precious tradition would continue after the death of our parents, but we were all determined to try to keep it up.  Much to our surprise and pleasure, Family Day is just as natural as it was with Mama and Daddy.  In the past, it was always at the folks’ house.  Now we alternate between Jeanne’s, Amy’s, and our house.  Our sister, Bettye, will be back in her home soon and will be able to join us, and we can’t wait!

Another part of the Family Day tradition is Starbucks.  Again, in the past, Dave, Dannye, Jeanne, Missy, and Amy always met for coffee early-ish, then caravanned to Mama’s.  I was always working, so I wasn’t able to be there.  Now that I am no longer working, I go to Starbucks with the group!  Can you say Grande Mocha Frap with a shot of Espresso??  Oh, and in a Venti cup, because with the added Espresso it doesn’t all fit in the Grande cup!  The sad story lately, though, is that I’m dieting again.  No fraps for me for awhile!  So I sit there with my Adkins Mocha protein shake and Diet Coke while they have their coffee.  It really doesn’t hurt too much – my motto has come back to me easily:  Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels!  I lost 7 lbs. the first week (Prep days) which is quite an incentive to keep on the straight and narrow!

Just like dominoes – one cheat leads to another, until…

dominos

Wednesday is Bible Study day.  Jeanne and I have begun the Beth Moore study, “Jesus, The One And Only.”  We have had the books for almost a year, but just haven’t been able to work on it.  Our brains were so foggy for so long, it simply wasn’t possible to do a Bible Study justice!  We just began last week, and had to push this week’s study to Friday, but it’s been so good to be in the Word more regularly!  It’s also been really good to spend a day with just the two of us. 

Bible  

Thursday and Friday mean that Missy comes over.  Dave and Karla’s schedule allows them to be at home with Missy Saturday through Wednesday, and although Missy is plenty able to stay home alone, we enjoy her company!  She is also home-educated, and if she were to have a question, we’d be there.  She never does, but still…

Saturday is an absolutely great day!  I usually spend the whole day with Bill, and often with Dannye Reigh.  Sometimes we work around the house, sometimes we go play, sometimes we visit Bill’s folks.  There will be many Saturdays we will have photo jobs, but we still get to be together!  I just haven’t gotten over that yet – being with, working with, living with my family!

Nicole Joy
Nicole Joy, Dannye’s bitty friend

Today I was home alone for most of the day.  Dannye’s best friend has a bitty baby girl that Dan is compelled to visit at least once a week, so she has been spending Wednesday or Thursday nights with them.  Missy’s mama stayed home today, so she didn’t come over.  I had some Bible study to catch up on, and I really wanted to clean the house up a bit.  It took me FOREVER to get started on my Bible study!  I was so frustrated at myself!  I knew Bill would be home early, as he had a dental appointment, and I wanted to be done so I could be available for whatever he might want to do.  Well, it didn’t end up being a problem, because he came home with a severe headache and slept in his Lazy Boy office chair right beside me while I finished up my lesson.  And cleaned the house.  And folded the laundry.  And fixed supper!  It was great!  I had the joy of having him right where I could reach out and touch him if I needed him, yet I was able to do all the things I’d hoped to do today! 

When he woke up, he was feeling a little better, and we have enjoyed our evening together up here in our office.  We love our office!  But that’s fodder for another post, and I need to go to bed.  I hope you all have had a wonderful week, full of grace and joy!  Oh, and speaking of joy – here’s a picture of mine:

Em and kids
Em sent this to me today via phone, and it simply made my day!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slow Shift

  1. So nice to read your post, full of family and church events!  That is a good study of Beth Moore’s – we did it as a Ladies Bible study at church a few years ago.  

  2. redladybug18 says:

    Sounds like you’re slowly getting back into life.  I’ve realized there’s seasons that are crazy busy and then God gives us seasons of slowness to get us back up to speed.  I think that’s great that you and your sisters live close enough to get together every week!

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    I know you said it’s “fodder for another day”, but I can’t figure out you’re living/sleeping arrangements.  I thought Dannye had her bedroom upstairs……..have y’all sectioned it off???  I love that alittle cabin…….such a cozy “nest” your you & your little chickies…….love you sister…….. & love reading anything you post…….here or FB.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – Dannye’s room is on one side of the loft, and our office is on the other.  It is separated by Dan’s closet, but right now she has no inside walls.  No secrets here!!  I love when you comment on my blog or on FB.  I’ve missed you the last few days!!

  5. AuntGen says:

    I, too see things slowly coming back to center, settling into routine, but with a somewhat different direction than before we started this great adventure.  I’m so excited for you and your diet success!  I don’t know how I’m doing in actual weight loss, but I’m blessed to see progress in self-control and the beginnings of some semblance of fitness. I AM still doing vintage Body Electric with Margret Richard, ca 1996, but it seems to work well for me. And as a side note, I’ve found that the work out is easier and more energetic when I’m working off a caffeine high!  Love you and look forward to more posts and next week’s Bible study. 

  6. grace_to_be says:

    glad to hear things are getting back into a normal swing for you, friend~ and what busy, full days you have!your church reminds me of how our church used to be growing up.. families traveled up to 2 hours away to be there so we dropped the evening service and had an afternoon one. and yes! all the crock pots lined up down the wall each wk was alawys a funny sight. but so many great memories from those days of just hanging w/ friends and enjoying each other~ it was the highlight of my wk as a teen!all the pictures are beautiful~ i love the simplicity of the candle ones. could Dannye be any cuter!! such a doll. and of course emily’s kiddos. all so adorable! i know you’re so proud. as my grandma always says to us, “there ain’t a uglyor mean one in the bunch!!” ;)happy wednesday!! xo

  7. Hey, welcome and thanks for visiting my site! God bless, ~ Pete “Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you…” Isaiah 43:4 (ref. my Xanga post of 2/21/2011 AD)http://evangelist-guy.xanga.com/741882736/do-you-feel-loved-and-honored/

  8. Thanks for your ministry here! Hey, I have started a group, “Quotes from the Bible” (http://www.xanga.com/groups/group.aspx?id=2574178) Interested? God bless, ~ Pete

Leave a Reply

