Looking for Autumn


Most of you know we live in Texas – kinda south-east-central-ish Texas.  Our little town is relatively (in Texas miles) close to Texas A&M University.  And most of you know we are experiencing a terrible drought here in Texas.  We have endured an oppressively hot summer this year.  So most of us are really searching for even a hint of Autumn.

On the first day of Fall we had a little cool front.  Our low temps dropped to the mid-50s, and our high temps dropped to the mid-80s.  We’ve had a few of those days since then, and haven’t been back up near the 100s at all.  Mostly we hang between the 70s and 90s.  And dry, dry, dry!

It certainly doesn’t look like Autumn around here.  We don’t have a lot of Fall colored foliage in our particular area anyway.  The Chinese Tallow trees become a gorgeous red, and the oaks move quickly from green to orange to brown.  Something is a pretty yellow, but not sure what that tree is. At least, our normal years have that quick burst of color. 

Not this year.  The water-starved vegetation is  already winter brown or bare.  Even many of the evergreen pines are brown and dead. 

So Autumn isn’t really to be seen much around our house.  I waited until October 1st before I even allowed myself to look for my Fall decor.  It was still so hot!  I just couldn’t bring myself to look at them.  With that first [slightly] cool breeze, though, I began digging through boxes!  It’s not much, but here is a bit of Autumn at the Petty house!

Autumn 003a  Autumn 011a

Autumn 013a Autumn 004a

All these things were what I had bought for Mama’s house, so I dug around again and found my own Autumn decor, but I didn’t take pics of those. 

Another stab at feeling “Fallish” around here was doing some Autumn Mini-Sessions in our little town.  The Vintage Garden Tea House proprietor sent word through my niece that she would love for us to set up in her gardens during the Lone Star First Saturday event going on in town that weekend.  We had so much fun setting up and then gathering passersby for pics!  The day wasn’t tooo hot, and although it was a last minute decision to do this, we did 9 sessions.  It was a great day!

Fall 2011 Laureli (15)  
This was our set up, although the sun was so bright at this point you can’t tell how colorful it was.

Ayden & Seth (4)
These boys were so cute – I snagged them as the left the Tea House!

Ayden & Seth (12)
Great little sports!

Fall 2011 Braylen (48)  
This little guy was so cute! Everything was a “ball” to him.  There were apples everywhere!

Fall 2011 Laureli (50)
This was our host’s baby girl.  What a little dolly!!

Fall 2011 Rylee (48)  Fall 2011 Rylee (17)
And, oh, my goodness! What a precious little Punkin!

Fall 2011 Trinity (2) 
This little girl was very sweet.  She fit perfectly in those gardens, like a little meadow girl in a fairy tale.

Fall 2011 Trinity (6)
She enjoyed having her photo made!

Fall 2011 Cierra (5)
We even talked a couple of the waitresses into posing for us!

All in all we had a lot of fun and gained some business contacts!  We are also going to be setting up at the Tea House often for other mini-sessions.  Next time, maybe some Christmas pics! 

I need to go get supper going, but I wanted to leave you with one last picture.  The other day Bill, Dannye, & I were heading over to visit Bill’s Dad and Mom, and we were driving past the cemetary where Dad and Mama are buried.  I asked if I could go by the gravesites to check if Daddy’s headstone ever came in.  We don’t have one for Mama yet, but the VA provided this one for Daddy:

Autumn 002

I am so proud of my Daddy!

I pray you have a great weekend.  We are going to make the best of ours – this is the weekend of our annual Allen Family Reunion, and it had to be cancelled due to illness in our host’s family this year.  We are all mourning this fact, but praying for our precious cousin to regain her health, and be more than ready for next year’s gathering!

God bless your weekend!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Looking for Autumn

  1. Mottsngbury says:

    Beautiful decor & pictures.  I love my fall decorations, too.  I also wait til October 1st to put a little “fall” in the house.  Our weather is still in the HIGH 80’s.  I have an attic full of fall stuff, but just put out a few things.  Nothing outside at all so far.  The last picture made me cry, but I”m so glad you posted it.  Our sweet, precious Daddy……..wouldn’t he be proud!!   I love you, my sweet sister! Happy Fall………….

  2. I love the rich colors of autumn. Your decor is lovely, and you set up an attractive backdrop for your sessions. You have some very nice photos there!

  3. grace_to_be says:

    adorable pictures~ great job making everything look nice and fallish, even though it doesn’t feel it.glad to know ya’ll are getting some cooler temps..but still hope for rain to come!! i can’t imagine living in a place that’s so dry -though, as the weather gets chillier in canada, i do sometimes wish for a place that’s WARMER!! :)that last shot is sobering. i KNOW you are proud of your daddy.  and rightly so!{{hugs}}

  4. AuntGen says:

    Can’t wait to see all your fall decorations tomorrow!  Your pictures make me crave pumpkin soup and candy corn. 😉  …I miss Daddy.

  5. VallejoGirl says:

    Love all your fall decorations.  I am sure missing that here.  I have been lazy this year.  I guess I better get in gear.  Your grandkids are just precious.  I know visiting them was wonderful but was so sad to hear about your theft.  What has happened to people?  One of my daughter’s students got in her purse and stole her debit/credit card and wiped out her account.  And these are 7th and 8th grade students!  It is just so sad.  Your dad’s marker is so nice.  Know you miss him dearly.  vg

  6. redladybug18 says:

    how fun to do a spur of  the moment shoot!  Love the pictures and I think y’all did a great job of decorating!  Just got back yesterday from family camp and met several families from your church.  It was such a fun time!

Leave a Reply

