On the Road Again!


The biggest event in my family’s life is our annual trip to Glen Rose, Texas.  If you’ve read my blog for long, you know this!  It’s been going on since 1988, this October camping trip with the Conroe Home Educators, now known as the Conroe Area Christian Home Educators (CACHE), and we’ve only missed one year. 

Glen Rose 1.jpg  

We’re on the way, even as I type.  It’s a three-day campout, but we’ve always tried to go early and stay late!  Bill and Dannye have been able to go for the entire week several years now.  This year we had to cut back because of Bill’s work, so we are going today through Monday.  We got a really late start, so it will be interesting to see how the setting up of tents in the dusk/dark goes!

Which brings us to another difference in this year: tent camping rather than RV camping.  Most years we’ve been able to borrow Bill’s folks’ camper, but this year it is unavailable.  So we have loaded enough tents to house a small city, along with all the stuff we could think of that we will need.  The first time Emily camped with us was one of the few times we had to tent camp.  She was amused – well, perhaps amazed is a better description – of how we camp.  If it’s hot, Bill brings a window unit a/c for our tent.  If it’s cold, we bring a heater or two.  And always – I mean ALWAYS – Bill sets me up a bathroom tent.  I told him that if he wants me along on these trips, I will not go traipsing across the campground in the middle of the night to find the bathhouse!  It isn’t gonna happen! 

Glen Rose Dad's   10-06 676

During our years of homeschooling, this event was the most looked forward to of any we participated in.  Our support group was in it’s early stages, and was pretty small back then.  We all had pretty much the same mindset, the same goals, and even the same fears.  The legality of homeschooling was still up in the air.  Some of us were afraid we weren’t capable of educating our children.  All of us wanted our children to have a greater heart for their families than for their peers, and we all especially wanted our children to love Jesus more than any earthly thing.  We clung to each other, and our children revelled in each other’s company. 

Glen Rose 1

Glen Rose camping trip was the one time of year that the children got to hang together as a group for three days and nights!  In the kids’ younger days, they swam in the Brazos River during the day or played football in the fields of the campground, and played flashlight tag, and hide and seek, and war at night.  Moms and Dads stayed up late to talk – and talk!  There was a freedom about that wonderful campground because it was rather open, possibly an old pecan orchard.

Glen Rose 8.jpg  

We could see and hear our children, yet they had the freedom to run and play with abandon!  As the kids grew older, they would gather in the evenings around someone’s campfire and do what young people do – talk and laugh and sing!  So much fun was had around those many campfires!  Marshmallows roasted, apples dipped in caramel, hot chocolate steaming.  Talking, laughing, praying, praising. 

girls camping 111

This year I have a small dread about our annual Glen Rose trip.  Empty nest is WAY more painful during times like this! For me, the children is what makes the event.  Our children aren’t children any longer.  And this year, Bo & Em are in Colorado for a dear friend’s wedding this weekend, so our grandbabies aren’t here either! 

Last year, Arulai and Titus made our camping trip feel like the old days. 

Glen Rose 16  

Titus was only a few months old, and Arulai was three…and excited about EVERYTHING!  She loved the tent, she loved the camper, she loved the river, and she loved the campfire! 

Glen Rose 13  

 We had so much fun with them, and so enjoyed having Bo, Em, and Dannye all together. 

Glen Rose 14  

As we draw closer to our destination, I can feel the old excitement creeping into my veins.  I love this place, even though this year it is evokes a bit of sadness in the nostalgia, I am so glad we came.  The pics above are from last year (or earlier), but soon I will most assuredly be putting up photos from this trip.  I hope your weekend is delightful!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On the Road Again!

  1. What a great thing for your homeschooling group to do!  Although, I think maybe I am just as happy that our homeschooling group didn’t, because. . . well, I think that the quilt camp I do to where we stay in the bottom bunk bed and share a bathroom and the windows are usually not quite tight, so it is freezing, and everything is in a cabin, is about all the camping I can handle!   But you all have a great time!!!   I can sure relate to not having the kids there and that feeling of dread.  The places that I can’t walk into without having that feeling in the pit of my stomach. . . 

  2. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – I love that I have friends that understand!  And, yes, your kind of camping is more my style, but this isn’t too bad because my sweet hubby doesn’t let me do a thing! He makes everything as easy as possible for me.  Oh, but I do love cooking on a campfire – nothing tastes as good as when it’s cooked over pecan wood!

  3. redladybug18 says:

    Have a wonderful time!  Looks like it’s going to great weather for camping!

  4. Have such a Wonderful time! can’t wait to see the pictures from this year!

  5. Ahhh, that looks like so much fun! Hope it’s extremely relaxing and rejuvinating for y’all.

  6. grace_to_be says:

    haha!! you’re MY kind of camper!! an air conditioner and heater AND a potty tent~ can i come next time?? :)and i so related to what you wrote about homeschooling – in the early days.that sounds so much like my family.i remember scott and i being afraid the police were going to come lock us up any day!! ;)homeschooling has certainly come a long way. hope you had a wonderful time. hugs!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @grace_to_be – Amber, you are officially invited next year! I made a new discovery this year – sleeping on an air mattress when it’s cool/cold makes your backside very cold; so….I had an electric blanket under us, AND one over us!  It was NIIIIIICE!!!! 

  8. Passing by…looks like fun times ahead.God bless,Linda

  9. pettybunch says:

    @Mymanyblessings – So glad you came by – I LOVE making new Xanga friends!

Leave a Reply

