Just Life…


It’s hard to believe an entire week has passed since Thanksgiving!  Ours was a wonderful day of cooking, eating, and visiting.  Our group was small – only the three of us and my brother’s three – but we had a great time!

My sis-in-law, Karla, works for Walmart, so she worked a split shift (she was here between noon and 5-ish) on Thanksgiving Day.  My brother, David, worked his regular early shift and got home at 3:30.  So we were all together for a couple of hours.  It was short, but very sweet!  We even shared a few memories of Mama and Daddy, and it was precious! 

We also got to Skype with Bo, Emily, and the babies.  We only recently got everything together to be able to Skype, and I just love it!  No, it’s not anywhere near as good as being together; but it is oh, so wonderful to actually see them while we talk to them!  I love seeing how big the babies are, seeing Nathanael’s & Emily’s facial expressions while they talk to us.  Emily actually called while she was fixing dinner over at her family’s home, so we got to talk to her Dad and Mom and some of her siblings, too.  Such a fun time!

Early on Friday morning, while many of you were out doing your Black Friday Shopping, we three Pettys were heading to Louisiana!  On Saturday we shot the wedding for the middle daughter of a couple whom Bill and I consider our parenting/homeschooling mentors.  This wedding was so very dear, and loads of fun! 

Our accomodations for our time in Louisiana were with the grandmother of the bride.  What a joy it was to stay with this precious lady!  I only wish we had had more time to visit with her!  She was precious – moving in on 90 years young – and sharp as a tack! And her home – oh, my what a wonderful home!  It was furnished with the most beautiful antiques, and there were family photos at every turn.  I could have browsed and perused every nook and cranny! 

Since coming back home, we have been re-grouping, and trying to get into the holiday groove.  We have several photo jobs between now and Christmas; I haven’t done ANY Christmas shopping; and last but not in any way least, my Tater and Will are coming home for Christmas!  We just can’t wait!!!!!

I am determined not to put a damper on my joy at Pamela’s coming, but I can’t help but think about how much we will miss Nathanael’s family during these holidays!  To bring us together in heart, if not physically, we are sending packages, talking on the phone, trying to participate in these holidays together as best we can.  I’m including a couple of photos Bo and Em took of the kids – they are just so adorable!

Titus 2  
I may have shown this one before, but this is Titus – he is so, so cute!  This was Thanksgiving Day, I think.

Titus 
Emily says the shirt is true (Master of Disaster, just like Dad), but just look at that face -it couldn’t be, could it???

Selah 1
Our little Selah – what a little dolly!!

Selah and Tybo
These two are gonna be great “buds”, I’m just certain!!

Arulai 2
My precious firstborn granddaughter Arulai.  She is “holding” the Christmas tree on the top of their vehicle.  Emily said she took her job very seriously!

Arulai 3
See what a good job she did?

It’s way late now, and I need to get off to bed.  I seem to get tired early, yet never want to get into bed!  It’s a good thing I don’t have to be up early in the morning!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Life…

  1. Can I just say wow what gorgeous children.And its good that you all got to be together no matter the time limit that’s what counts.I love the photos below the Christmas ones of the kids are adorable & so professional.I hear skype is really good, I am not set up for it but it does not matter as all my family live in the surrounding area anyway lol. Have a blessed rest of the week.Linda

  2. ABAHM says:

    Oh they are getting so big and, as always are darling!  I too appreciate skype so much.  You do want to reach through and hold them, but it is so much more real than the phone, especially with the little ones.  

  3. I am so glad that you had such a nice Thanksgiving and a nice trip!  

  4. VallejoGirl says:

    Will you have a lot of weddings to shoot this season?  It will be busy on every end, won’t it?  Your grands are so precious and sooo photogenic!!  I’m sorry they won’t be able to join you this Christmas but skype is a really great technology.  I guess the next best thing to being with them in person.  And then when you see them next you can hug and kiss them until they say “grandma, enough already!!”

  5. redladybug18 says:

    Been missing you around here!  Glad you’re back!  Christmas pictures have been keeping me busy as I’m sure they are for you too.  I haven’t done too many shoots but with all my other activities it doesn’t leave much time for editingSuch cute grand kids!  I can imagine how hard it would be to live so far away and not get to see them growing up.   Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  

  6. RYC: When I first came to Xanga it was during a most stressful time in my life, I knew nothing about computer’s I was computer illiterate for sure lol. I didn’t even know how to turn one on lol I kid you not. But my dad, fil, & uncle had all passed away in the same week. Then 3 months later my grandson died he was 3 months old. It was a tragic time for us all. Then my s-i-l told me about Xanga she said, “Linda I love it.” & she too was computer illiterate lol. So I ventured over into blogging and I found that I did love it infact she has since quit blogging a long time ago in fact they don’t even have internet any more go figure lol. I continued blogging here up until about 2009 then I started on Facebook & left here for a while but never shut down always kept it open & most of my blogging friends are now on FB a selected few that won’t do FB still blog here. Oh my I didn’t mean to write a book here lol..Long story short lol…I met so many folks here who comforted me, then I got my sister into blogging ahe was battling Ovarian Cancer & this helped her so much she passed away in 2006 she has a blog here I will send you the link…anyway its a true comfort all my Cybor friends are…thanks so much for your kind comment.

  7. Here is my sister’s site if you want to take a look….http://nannydonna.xanga.com/

  8. They are darling.  For a moment I thought your baby was a literal doll!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @ModerateYoungMother – She’s actually my granddaughter – my first THREE grandkids!  My son and daughter-in-love are in Minnesota while we are living in Texas!  Selah does look like a doll in this picture, doesn’t she?  Not literal, but yes, our little dolly!!

Leave a Reply

