Dan’s Christmas Tree, and other stuff


My Dannye Reigh is Santa’s most enthusiastic helper.  She LOVES Christmas and she LOVES decorating!  It is all we can do to keep her from playing her Christmas music before Halloween!  So our out of state wedding shoot on Thanksgiving weekend just about killed her – since that is normally her decorating time. 

Tree 1
Dannye Reigh working on her tree from her upstairs bedroom! It’s a lovely 12-footer!

Christmas Decor 002
I’ve had those curtains ready to hang for weeks, but just got them up this week!

It took Dannye and I over a week to get the house decorated due to our busy schedule, but we finally got it done!  I am definitely using the term “we” loosely, as Dannye Reigh did almost everything.

Christmas Decor 003
My favorite part of this scene is Dan’s dog curled up in her bed by the fire! Her name is Schnocker, and she gets cold so easily.  She LOVES the fireplace!

Christmas Decor 006  
Dan used 2500 extra lights on the already pre-lit tree.  Some of the ornaments used were from our Christmas mini-session set up.  So gorgeous!!   

I helped get the curtains hung, added a couple of touches, and washed dishes, while Dannye completely put up and “trimmed” the tree, plus hung all the wall decor, as well as put out the Nativity and the village, etc.  She is so good at all this, and I love watching her work.  Her mind just seems to flow with creativity!

Christmas Decor 036
Our beautiful Nativity.  Amazingly enough, my hubby saved this stable from the dumpster at work!

Christmas Decor 065
Y’all pretend not to notice the unfinished sheetrock and the modem wires on the wall!

Christmas Decor 057

My favorite accomplishment in the past few days was actually not getting the Christmas decorations up.  Because we are still building on our home, we don’t have central heat installed.  It doesn’t get really cold where we are – not in comparison to where my northern kids are – but I wasn’t looking forward to even 25 degree nights! 

Christmas Decor 050  
The stone right in front of the stove is what we will be using on the wall behind the stovepipe as well as on the floor.  This was another gift to us from un-used construction sites!

Dannye has been using a woodburning stove for the past 2 years, but it was only installed temporarily. I had been after Bill to install it properly, but it was gonna be a difficult task.  I will admit that this is one of those times when Bill really, really misses having his son around!  Dan and I just aren’t quite the same as having a big, strapping young man to help!!

Christmas Decor 052
Don’t you love our fireplace??  I sure do!

The temporary state of the stove wasn’t working very well this time – smoke was just filling the house every time Dannye lit or stoked the fire!  So Bill and Dan decided to fix it right.  I won’t go in to all that entailed, but it took all day, and both of them were cold and sore when it was all done!  The finished product is oh, so wonderful!!  It’s warm, it’s beautiful, and it doesn’t cost us ANYTHING! (We have a great source for free firewood, too!) I love having a fireplace – we’ve never had one in any of our previous homes – actually, I’ve never lived in a home with one my entire life until now!  It’s a dream come true for me.

Christmas Decor 044
The stairs are one of my favorite features in our home.  Emily did the bulk of the work on these gorgeous steps.  I absolutely love them!

Christmas Decor 076
The stair runners are amazing angle iron that Bill built.  The part of the upstairs you can see is Dan’s bedroom.  Again, not finished, but getting there one day!

 
Christmas Decor 042
This little tree is a special addition this year.  When Dannye was decorating the big tree, she began using the ornaments we brought home from Mama & Daddy’s house, but she found that they were hidden in the huge tree.  She decided to get one of our photo prop trees and make a “Mamaw Tree”!  Mama had a collection of Campbell’s Soup ornaments, as well as other decorations she (and we) had made.  The angel on top was given to Mama by a Secret Sister (I think) and it has Mama’s name (“Chloe”) on it.   – it is such a sweet memorial to my Mama!

Christmas Decor 053  Christmas Decor 054
These lovely creatures are another addition from my Mama’s collection.  Mama and I painted these deer many, many years ago!  We used to do crafts together alot, so these means so much to me.

Christmas Decor 074
And this is Tommy!  He was also Mama’s.  Tommy is our door greeter!  Each time someone comes in the door, he cheerily says, “Come on in! It’s warm inside!” or “I’m so glad your here!  Be our guest and stay awhile!”  I just love it!  (He drives Bill crazy, so I try to have him turned around when Bill gets home!)  But isn’t he cute? 

Christmas Decor 070
I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned this already, but we were recently given another gift for the building of our home – a partial set of cabinets!  Someone had ordered them, and I don’t know if the cabinets weren’t right, or if the folks changed their minds, but they were given to US!

Christmas Decor 072
The location for these two pieces was a no-brainer, so we installed them right away.  There are a few other pieces that will require more thought and work, so hopefully someday soon!  They are beautiful, and I am so grateful to have them!  I would have taken a wider angle pic of the kitchen, but I wasn’t quite through cleaning up after supper.  It’s rather a small kitchen, but, again, we’re a small family!

Well, it’s gotten late again.  I’d better get off and head to bed!  I want to leave you with a couple of photos from our last Christmas Mini-Sessions, just to be sure you see the difference between my snapshots and the professional photographers in the family!!  Also, I downloaded the pics below from our FB site, so the quality isn’t the best… But they sure are cute!!

Christmas Sessions December 3

Christmas Sessions December 3 002

Christmas Sessions December 3 003

Christmas Sessions December 3 001

Christmas Sessions December 3 004

Christmas Sessions December 3 005

God bless your day!!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dan’s Christmas Tree, and other stuff

  1. Mottsngbury says:

    Nina, Nina, Nina……….I just loved EVERY SINGLE PICTURE!!!   I knew Dan’s tree was gonna be spectacular, but w/all the other decorations………it’s incredible………..what a decorater! I love it all……such precious memories as you put up each cherished ornament of your Mom’s.  I even spotted something I made for you YEARS ago…….lol! I just love it all………..Merry, Merry Christmas you to all……….btw, I also love the cabinets….what a special gift. It’s coming along nicely!!  Love YOU!, sister.

  2. ABAHM says:

    That tree is spectacular!  So much fun to have space for it with the tall ceiling.  My hat is off to Danny.  I have been wanting a girl to help with decorating   I so enjoyed seeing pictures of your home and all you are doing. It is wonderful to have a fire place, your kitchen cabinets are so pretty, and the stairs are really beautiful.  I like it when they are an architectural piece, so many just take up space,and though needed, don’t add to the flavor of the home…these do!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – If you are referring to the beautiful angel hanging you made, yes, I have Mama’s and mine!  I loved that Dan put them on either side of the door – that is our huge french door behind the tree. Molly is the only one who ever uses it right now since there are no steps yet, so we’re having to re-train her to go only to the back door to come in!@ABAHM – The tall ceiling is exactly why Dannye wanted a bigger tree.  She originally wanted a nine-footer, but we couldn’t find one.  This one was on clearance after Christmas last year, and she does love it so much!  I really appreciated your comment about our stairs – they really are beautiful.  We are working on getting rails put up, but want just the right ones that won’t detract from the stairs themselves.  Thinking about steel and glass, as we have both of those materials, but want to be sure!!

  4. Mottsngbury says:

    Well, I didn’t even notice the little Angels hanging on either side of the door til you mentioned them. Actually, I’m talking a/b the little “wall hanging” hanging next to your family portrait going up the stairs!  I made that many moons ago…….think I was still in N. Richland Hills………again…….love all you decor – both Christmas & living space…………

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – Yep, that, too! I love all those handmade things you’ve given over the years!

  6. Wow! So beautiful! (And I was impressed with our tree! only about 71/2 feet) Love all the decorations, makes me want to come to your house and just sip hot coacoa in front of your beautiful fire! So snuggly looking.

  7. Wow!  It is all so beautiful!!!   Very festive and creative!!  And it has such a feeling of holiday joy and . . . energy . . . is the only word I can think of to describe it!  What a special family you have!

  8. grace_to_be says:

    oh, everything just looks so festive and sparkly and cozy! love the staircase too..and that tree!! my word. perfect!would love to sit in front of that warm fire for a nice chat w/ ya friend~ :)enJOY this season w/ your beautiful family.

  9. AuntGen says:

    Love Dan’s tree, especially the shot from your office. Love the whole Christmassy feel of your house right now, and I can’t wait to see how the finished cabinates are going to look. I love the pics of the Hoke family, especially the one of Jimmy tickling his sisters, and I love how you highlighted Mama’s decorations. She reveled in this holiday!

  10. redladybug18 says:

    I love your house!  It looks so warm and cozy! Is this the cabin that everyone “owns” or is this your own house?I love the loft area!  Dan’s done such a great job!  I’m not a Christmas decorator. My mom loves doing it though, so I usually leave it to her πŸ™‚  This year, since all the family came for Thanksgiving, I think we all got too tired and not a single thing has been put up for Christmas.  It looks like it’s still fall here inside πŸ˜‰  I think we’ve decided to just make it easy on ourselves and skip the decor.

  11. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Yes, this is that cabin! Bill and I will probably be here forever now! I love it, and love every new accomplishment that moves us toward finishing!  We’re so Christmas-y around here, I don’t think we could ever skip our Christmas decor! But I do know I’m glad I have Dan to do the bulk of the work – not sure it would look this festive without her!!!

  12. I absolutely love your tree omg its gorgeous. What a decorater Dan is wow! I love all of it and had you not pointed out the parts that are being done I would have never noticed any of it for the beauty of the decor.  Love, love, love your wood burning stove. There is nothing like the warm from a fire it makes for such coziness. I love the progress of your home can’t wait to see the finished product!Merry Christmas dear friend…Linda

  13. pettybunch says:

    @Mymanyblessings – Thank you, Linda! We feel totally blessed to have our home – even unfinished!

  14. VallejoGirl says:

    What a GORGEOUS tree!  Wow it is a beauty.  I would love to have one that tall but we don’t have tall ceilings.  She did a great job decorating it.  I can’t imagine laying on the platform and doing that!  ACK!!  lol  I guess I’m scared of heights!  Anyway, it’s a grand success.  Their photography is really taking off.   They are doing some really lovely photos.  And the grandkids are just the cutest.  Will your daughter and son always live up north?  They are toooo far away from TX!!

  15. Ok now time for an update lol, nor that I mind seeing that beautiful tree. Just need to hear from you & know whats happeneing (yes I am nosey) lol.No really Hope your New Year was blessed….hugs….Linda!

Leave a Reply

