This & That, and some sad news….


It seems days turn into weeks before I know it, and I haven’t written at all!  I think about what I’ll write all the time, but never take the time to sit down and write my thoughts down.  It’s way too late tonight, but I want to write a minute before I head to bed.

Dannye Reigh got all the Christmas decorations down, including the tree, and now  I suddenly remembered we live in an unfinished house! It sure was sad!  The walls are so bare!  But, it really urges me on to see what steps we can take to “do the next thing” (one of my favorite Elisabeth Elliot quotes) to finish the house.  I’ve begun watching my favorite designer again – Sarah Richardson.  There are only about 3 seasons of her shows available on the computer, but I could watch them over and over.  Her tastes are much like mine, although she has a whole lot more money to spend than I do.  That’s okay – I get lots of ideas from her, and often Bill comes across some of the items she uses to decorate, and he gets them for FREE.  The perks of being collector – the kind who collects anything and everything!

Jeanne and I are gonna bite the bullet and sign up for Weight Watchers together.  We are both wanting the accountability, and I really need a program to follow.  I’m one of those that needs boundaries and rules.  I’m really excited about it, though.  I even got some new walking shoes yesterday, fully intending to get off the couch and on the road this morning. 

fitness

Instead, I woke up this morning to [lovely, beautiful, wonderful] miserable rain!  I couldn’t walk, so I decided to go shopping!

I guess shopping isn’t exactly what I did today.  I still don’t have my driver’s license, so I went to deal with that.  TRY to deal with that, I should say.  I found out that you need I.D. to get your driver’s license.  I don’t have any I.D. because it was all in my purse that was stolen…LAST AUGUST!  The good news is that I can use a variety of things for I.D., such as a W2 in my name, a voter’s registration card, or even my marriage license.  So I will go back later this week, I.D. in hand! 

It’s getting very late, but I wanted to ask prayer for my niece, Melissa.  Missy is our baby (she’s 14, but the baby of our family) and she is such an animal lover!  Her horse got very sick yesterday, and despite their efforts, he died this morning.  My heart just breaks for our Missy – Moonshine was definitely a one-owner horse!  He loved Missy as much as she loved him.  Please pray for her, and even the whole family.  It was a very tough loss.

THANKSGIVING!!!! 005.jpg

I’m heading to bed now – tomorrow is Family Day, so we’ll be heading to Starbuck’s early in the morning before coming back here for stuffed baked potatoes. 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This & That, and some sad news….

  1. loaine says:

    Yay for you for biting the bullet and joining Weight Watchers.Our daughter recently lost 50lbs.and looks great.She’s really big on exercise and I have good intentions of”jumping on the bandwagon”but alas my motivation hasn’t arrived yet.  So sorry to hear about your niece’s horse.Animals become such a part of your life.

  2. redladybug18 says:

    wow, you’re still dealing with your drivers lic. stuff?  Hope you’re able to get it worked out soon!  It can be so frustrating working with the people at the DPSSo sorry about your nieces horses.  It’s always hard losing an animal that’s been such a good friend!

  3. So sorry for Missy and her loss.  I prayed that God would comfort her and give her hope and peace.  It is hard when the animals that contribute so much to our lives and we love so dearly are so suddenly gone.  May her young heart find that Jesus is a friend that will never leave her, never forsake her — and that He cares so tenderly for her and understands her grief.About those stuffed potatoes???  How many points???Ah, me.  How very, very hard it is.  My husband and I are doing weight watchers together, but I don’t find that exactly fun because he expects me to keep track of his points and when he doesn’t lose, somehow it feels like it is my fault.  I am thinking I might have to go back to the meetings.  Problem is, I am not very inspired by one of our local leaders and I wish that I could have someone who motivates by example instead of hollow words.  (Is that too honest?  If it is, I’m sorry.  It’s just a big hurdle for me.)  Keep on, keeping on!

  4. pettybunch says:

    Thank you for your prayers for Missy. She has sure had to deal with a whole lot in her young life. Your prayer for her to find Jesus as her true friend is well taken – she often feels lonely with only us adults as her friends.I really understand how you feel about WW.  Getting a Smart Phone is one of the ways I am going to be able to keep up with my points, or I’d be facing failure, myself!  And I also get what your talking about with the meetings leader! Having a cheerleader is great, but true motivation is more often given through example!  When I was in WW many years ago, our leader was pretty great.  She gave us so many tips and helps, and was often more excited than we were about our weightloss!!  I will be praying with you about your weightloss – it’s difficult no matter how you look at it, and we need God’s grace to help us make those good choices!BTW, about the stuffed potatoes, points value depends on what you stuff it with.  Just sour cream and chives = 6 pts.  I added a tiny sprinkling of cheese and bacon, so I probably spent closer to 10 pts., but the potato was my entire lunch, so it wound up not being too bad.  My day wasn’t too bad, but I still have to get into the habit of planning for and counting points!  I haven’t WW in so long, so I often eat before I think!

  5. grace_to_be says:

    oh, i just love sarah richardson.. we just got cable last wk and i’ve been eating up all the decorating shows on hgtv!! I’ve thought of joining ww too~ i’ve had friends do it and have such great results. so good you can do it w/ someone. i think that helps alot! i’m so sorry you’re still going through all the rigamarole w/ your license. yes! i’ts crazy trying to get all that stuff and then you need id on top of it, and it’s like, “but i don’t HAVE ANY!!!” shayne went through that trying to get insurance here – – they wouldn’t insure him w/out a driver’s license, but he couldn’t get his license w/out insurance!! it’s was such an ordeal~so sad to hear about your niece’s horse. as a horse lover, and raised w/ them, and having had the exact same thing happen w/ a horse of mine dying i so understand and feel for her!! i know ppl say when our pet’s die, they’re just animals – – but our hearts still get attatched, and I think God created them for us to enjoy and love, so of course we miss them when they’re gone. praying for her.~love to you friend. grateful to know you here… just wanted to say that!!! šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  6. pettybunch says:

    @grace_to_be – Your style often reminds me of Sarah – especially your love of WHITE decor. There is an episode of “Sarah’s Summer House” where she is showing her husband some samples of cabinetry color in pale (very pale) blues, greens, and beiges, and he says no to them all because they are “white, white, and white!”  It makes me laugh, because my very colorful daughter feels the same way about white. Or pale colors.

Leave a Reply

