Spring Rains in January, and Family Day


Wednesday, the weatherman gave us a forecast of rain, gradually increasing to 90% chance by the afternoon.  There was also a forecast of high winds, possible tornado activity, and severe thunderstorms.  Although we had activities planned, we’ve been trained by the past years of increasing drought to be thankful for rain at any time! 

We did get our promised rain, although in our particular location we did not receive much of the severe weather at all.  I heard that there was severe weather as close as 15 miles from us, but we just didn’t have anything scary going on at our house.  Again, we did get some nice rain, a pretty good amount – about 2 inches since last night.  I am so grateful for the rain!

One of the activities in the midst of the rain was Family Day.  As I’ve written before, Family Day begins at Starbucks, and then moves to one of our homes for food and fellowship.  My sweet hubby was not real comfortable with our driving out in the day’s forecasted storm, so brother Dave took Dannye Reigh with him to get “carry out”!  I was really glad to stay home while it rained – it was so cozy in our house! 

After my Tall Mocha Frappuccino with an extra shot of Espresso – in a Grande cup, of course – the lunch menu was hotdogs, chili, chips, and for dessert…..Roast Rabbit!  I mentioned Roast Rabbit in a previous post recently, and said I would explain one day.  Actually, I’ve described Roast Rabbit to you before – a long time ago!  Today, it was kinda special to have Roast Rabbit for dessert because my nephew Kenny was here.  Roast Rabbit was Kenny’s favorite dessert when he was little.  And it all happened because of my brother’s love for Bugs Bunny! 

We were at Mama’s one Family Day when Kenny was quite small.  We had finished lunch, and it was time for dessert.  Dave began singing, “We’re gonna have Roast Rabbit!  We’re gonna have Roast Rabbit!”  Then, we sat a plate of yummy Pound Cake with Sugared Strawberries and Cool Whip on top in front of Kenny, and he immediately began to cry!  “I want Roast Rabbit!”  He was heartbroken!  So Dave quickly saved the day by telling Kenny that this WAS Roast Rabbit – the cake was the Rabbit, and the Strawberries & Cool Whip were the “Roast”.  Thus… Pound Cake with Strawberries & Cool Whip = Roast Rabbit!

After our yummy lunch and Roast Rabbit dessert, we began to slowly disperse.  The Allens are still getting settled into there new home, and Amy was just worn out!  Gen stayed for quite awhile after everyone else left, and we had a great visit.  Of course, we always do!

Next week is our last Wednesday Family Day.  After the first of February, Amy will no longer be working, so Family Day will go back to Tuesdays.  Next week, my baby brother turns 50, so we’d love to do something special for him.  We had hoped to have a BIG party, but he has so many irons in the fire right now that we have toned our plans down a bit.  I am hoping that my older sis can come out with her hubby, and possibly my nephew Marty.  We’ll have to see how it goes!

Well, I’ve been working on this post for 2 days now, and I’m tired!  I will leave you with an adorable pic of my son and grandson…
Bo & Titus

And my daughter-in-love with my grandgirls!

Em and the girls

Aren’t they beautiful???

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Rains in January, and Family Day

  1. Love, love it when you post! I always enjoy it! I have SO enjoyed getting to be at Family Day the past couple of weeks and I’m really looking forward to it becoming the norm for me again! Great pictures of Nate, Em and kids! Yes, they are beautiful! See y’all tomorrow!

  2. maryhurlbut says:

    Thanks for letting me “join” your Family Day, loved the cozy rain and Roast Rabbit.

  3. redladybug18 says:

    This rain we’ve been getting is so wonderful!Roast Rabbit sounds so yummy!  I’d want it every day :)Beautiful pics!

  4. grace_to_be says:

    your family days sound wonderful~i love that you guys do that every week!! how awesome.what a neat tradition for the grandkids to have and look forward to.{speaking of which – they’re ADORABLE!!}and roast rabbit is one of my favorite desserts too!i just never knew it. ;)happy tuesday my friend~

  5. Well thanks for that roast rabbit story I could not figure out how the roast rabbit was a dessert but it sure sounds yummy! And yes your family is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

