Monday, Monday…


Most folks don’t like Monday.  I’m just not one of those folks.  I have always loved Mondays – the fresh, clean beginning of a new week!  I don’t count Sunday as the beginning of the week; to me, Sunday is a separate day altogether, not the beginning or the end – it’s just special.  But Monday – now there’s a day with a completely clean slate! I love it!

This day, being Monday, did not disappoint me.  We woke up to a cool, crisp, clear day, which turned into a warm, sunshiney, clear day.  Gen, Kunk, Kenny, Missy, Dannye Reigh, & I went for a good, brisk walk in the National Forest (the forest begins where our road ends), the we got in a little visit before they went home to do their Monday things.  Missy stayed here because I am homeschooling her.  I had told her we were doubling up today since she missed a couple of days last week – once due to my illness, once due to hers – so we got to work quickly.  She mostly does her work on her own, so homeschooling her doesn’t really intrude much on my day. 

While Missy was schooling, I was working on my Weight Watchers tracking planner.  Have I mentioned that I joined WW online?  I was trying to work the plan without actually joining, but was finding myself lost and binging way too often!  So I actually joined last Wednesday.  I have about 60 pounds to lose, but I’m working hard at not dwelling on that number.  I’ve about decided that if I will simply dwell on eating right and exercising, my habits will have more of a chance to change permanently rather than the “dwelling on the weightloss itself and when I’ve lost enough weight, I can eat all I want” way of thinking I’ve always had.  I’ve done well my first week.  I’m only weighing in once a week, so I don’t know if I’ve lost any weight; but I DO know that I’m cutting out a bunch of junk I was eating, and really cutting back on portion size.  This, my friends, is a good thing!

Jeanne (Gen) is doing the plan with me.  Missy is signed up, but is having a little bit of trouble sticking with it.  She’s young, and forgets about the plan so easily.  I think that as I work on it, perhaps it will help her make better choices, and help get her in the eating-better mindset!  Dannye is also watching her weight, but is still at the age where she can just push back from the table a little and lose weight!  Dan, Gen, Missy, and I have also been trying to walk together several times a week.  We’ve not been as consistent as we’d like, but we’re working on it.  As I said before, Dave (Kunk) and Kenny joined us this morning.  It was so much fun to have them with us.  We walked about 1.5 miles, which isn’t a great distance, but when you’re as fat and out of shape as I am, it’s a great beginning!  Weight Watchers has some helpful articles, and several on walking.  I’m hoping to incorporate their suggestions into my exercise program so I can build up more strength, as well as lose more weight.

So after the walking, the visiting, and the schooling, I got all cleaned up and went off to town to run errands.  The vet, the feed store, and Walmart were on the agenda, and I had a nice outing all by myself!  I even forgot my phone, so no one could call me if they’d even wanted to.  I wasn’t out a terribly long time, which is unusual for me – I’m a terrible dawdler!!  But Dan had Bible Study tonight, and I didn’t want Bill to be home by himself.  He’s still not supposed to be up and about, and pretty much has to be waited on hand and foot (pun intended!).  He has an appointment tomorrow with an orthopedic surgeon, so perhaps we’ll get some direction on what to do, and how long he’ll be laid up. 

Bill 4
^Bill’s view of life for the past 10 days^

Bill & Bluebell 3
 Bill’s view of life, with dessert! 

Tomorrow is another Family Day, which begins a little early in the morning.  I’d better get off here and get some sleep – I don’t want to be late for Starbuck’s! 

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday, Monday…

  1. Good for yall on the WW it’s best when you have someone doing it with you. I never could get into doing it online, I felt it would be to much work lol. I have been slack. Haven’t walked in several weeks as daughter has been working late & I use that as an excuse (bad me). I have been snacking more so I need to watch it. But it’s so hard to keep from eating that bad stuff that tastes so good…ugh!ryc: I hope you never do ever have a panic attack they are horrid. Have a blessed Tuesday….Linda

  2. AuntGen says:

    I’m trying to get with this program! I am really enjoying the walking, and know the ww will be great once I get some momentum going, especially since we’re doing it together.  Love that you are getting your words back. 😉

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Mymanyblessings – Linda, for me the online version is way easier! I can track my food easily on the computer, and if I had a “smart phone” I could track with that. My daughter has the app on her phone, so she keeps track for me if we’re out.  So easy for me!!  Looking up foods ahead of time is easy, too.  I guess I just enjoy fooling around with the computer enough that this is easy for me!  Thanks for the encouragement, and I hope all goes well for you, too!

  4. Good for you for joining WW and being proactive about losing weight.  I have been trying, following my program, added more exercise, but not much is happening!  I have my lab appt for my blood work tomorrow, so we’ll see what that shows.  I am also prediabetic, so I am trying to eat more of a diabetic diet.  Hope that Bill heals quickly!

  5. pettybunch says:

    My weightloss didn’t go so well this first week. I lost less than a pound; but I’m definitely not gonna let myself get discouraged. I need this diet and exercise desperately!  I hope your labs help you find answers to your weightloss issues.  I’m hypothyroid, so losing weight is really difficult for me, even with the right dosage of meds.  But, again, I’m NOT giving up.  My grandbabies are moving back to our area, and I want to be able to play with them!

  6. KatieWatt says:

    I like mondays too! I am so much more motivated to be productive!

  7. Wait– your grandbabies are moving back?!?!?!?!?  That has to be some of the best news yet.  And I do believe that Grandbabies are some of the best motivators there are!  At least it was one of the things that kept me moving when I had my knee replacements.  I kept saying, “I don’t WANT to be a “sit on the couch and read stories” grammy.  I want to be a “throw the ball, dance on the kitchen floor, feed the birds, do SOMETHING!” grammy.  Thank God, (and I do mean, “THANK GOD!) I’ve been granted another chance.  And I need to lose weight, too.  Middle Daughter is a faithful weightwatcher’s tracker, and I know it would be good for me to be so conscientious.  I have found that if I don’t try to lose, I actually steadily gain, so I try to mark each pound by thinking that if I hadn’t lost that one pound, I most likely would have gained — so I would be two pounds heavier than I am now instead of one pound lighter than I was.  Foolish reasoning, I do suppose, but it helps to keep me steady when I am so discouraged.  I hope your husband heals quickly.  I have found that there is almost nothing as hard as a husband laid up who is usually so active and busy.  Wowser!  It certainly takes the grace of God on the part of everyone concerned — but especially the wife. Keep your chin up, girlie.  It won’t be forever. 

  8. grace_to_be says:

    oh, bill’s view of life {with dessert} doesn’t look so bad!! 😉 but if he’s not a sitter, as you mentioned, then i can imagine he’s going nuts. hope he won’t be laid up too long~ and way to go w/ WW. i have several friends that have done that and had great success. i like that you can eat normal foods- so it’s more about portion control. which seems to me to be a lifestyle change – not just a diet. and in the long run works best for keeping the weight off. if i had someone here to go w/ me, and had the money 🙂 i’d join. just to lose these last 10-15 pounds. cause i know the older i get it won’t get easier.. :/i’ve missed “chatting” here w/ you. seems i’ve been out of the xanga loop for a bit and i’m trying to get back around and visit everyone. :){{hugs}}

  9. pettybunch says:

    @grace_to_be – I’ve missed you, too!  I knew you’d been visiting your family, so I wasn’t too worried!   Doing the WW online is good for me so far – I don’t have to go to meetings, and I LOVE tracking on the computer or smart phone – I’m so much more prone to do it regulary!!  Also, right now they are having a promotion for 3 months with no start up fee, so I figured if I can’t afford to keep up the online thing, at least I’ll have 3 months to learn the program.  An oh, you are so right about those pounds being more difficult to lose as we age!!  Good Night Nurse – I used to be able to just cut out one thing and the weight would just melt off; but, NOW…. even with diet AND exercise, it is slooooowwwwww going!  I’m determined, though.  My babies are moving back before the end of the month, and I want to be healthy enough to be a FUN grandma!!  Hugs back to you, Amber!

  10. Yay for WW online!  I’m on it also!  I think I’ve decided that when my subscription runs out that I won’t renew, but with the app on my phone, that works for me and gives me all the information I need.  It will update your points based on your weight, you can enter your weight, goals, and measurements.  You can scan in a lot too.  I joined in December and so far I’ve lost 25lbs, but I’ve also had food allergies that’s caused me to lose more than I would have with just weight watchers.  I have a super big amount to lose (60-80lbs), but it makes it so much easier if you just look at small goals.  I like looking toward 5%, 10%, and now I’m looking toward my 15% goal!!  😀 

  11. pettybunch says:

    @freedomwjustice – Thank you for comment – it was SO good to see your name on my list!!  I have a big amount to lose, too.  65 pounds would get me to my personal ideal, but the doctor would be satisfied if I lost at least 40.  I also like the small goals. I’m hoping to see some better results as I learn how to eat for my best weightloss.  I would love to do the smart phone app, but have to figure if it’s worth adding one more data plan to our already bulging phone budget!!

Leave a Reply

