News!

I had a post all written out last week, but it just went away.  Who knows where!  So I’m going to try again.

I had news last time out, and since I’ve not really been able to pass this along officially, I’ll do it now.  Some of you are FB friends with my precious daughter-in-love, Emily, so you already know that my son and family are moving back to Texas!  Nathanael interviewed for a promotion, and is being transferred to our area (not sure if that’s exactly correct, but it gets the point across).  They will set up housekeeping at Mama & Daddy’s place, building a new house as soon as possible, and they will be here Tuesday evening!

 

I’m sure I don’t have to tell you how excited I am, even as my heart aches for Em’s folks.  I know how much this hurts.  Em says all the time that she wishes there could be an earthquake (no one hurt, of course) that would move Minnesota and Texas next to each other!  I wish the same thing!  The only thing is, Minnesota would have to stay cool/cold for Barry, and Texas would have to stay warm/hot for me!

I have other news, as well.  This is the best of news for this Nonnie!!  Pamela, my little Tater, is expecting their first baby!! She and Will have been hoping for awhile to give us this news, and sure enough, I got the call in early February.  I was forced to keep it a secret so Pamela could tell her siblings the news in person when they all came to her and Will’s house for vacation.  I couldn’t even tell my sister Jeanne!!!  I was a good girl and kept my mouth shut, but it didn’t matter.  Dannye Reigh had already put 2 & 2 together, and suspected Pamela and Will’s secret, but she was totally thrilled to have her suspicions confirmed! 

 

Baby Swem is due in October, and we absolutely cannot wait!  Pamela has experienced lots of morning sickness, but seems to be feeling some better these last few days.  Dannye and I are planning to drive up to see Pam and Will in June – I want so much to see her little pregnant belly!  She probably won’t be showing much in June, but I can’t wait to see her anyway!  I’m so thankful to the Lord for blessing Pamela and Will with this baby – they will be the most wonderful parents!!  Oh, I just can’t wait – did I say that already???

I’ve also been wanting to tell you about my Sisters Getaway last week.  We sisters, all 6 of us, had the very best time in the world!!  My dear sister of our heart, Greta, was able to “borrow” her sister-in-law’s lake house on Richland Chambers Lake, and all of us sisters and sisters-in-law spent Sunday night through Wednesday afternoon together!  Oh, we had a great time!  We talked and laughed and ate; we fished and played games!  I can’t even tell you how wonderful it was!  My family is what some call a blended family, although we younger ones never thought about it that way at all.  As we’ve grown older, we’ve realized how difficult it was on the olders, but they never, ever made us feel any way except beloved by them all!  And our sis-in-laws have been right in there with us – I’ve known Greta almost all my life, and Karla has been with us for 23 years.  The lake house was absolutely amazing – we all felt like we were in the lap of luxury!  I know there isn’t any way to share what a great time we had – no one could understand unless you knew us and had been there!  Just know that I felt as though it was the first time I’ve really laughed since Daddy died, and it was GOOD!



^The back of the lake house^

 

^The pier at the edge of the backyard^

 

^My sis, Motts, testing the waters, and baby sis, Gen, just chillaxin’!^

 

^Karla was probably on the phone with Dave – her hubby, my brother – we called with questions several times! the second pic is Greta, readying her rod for fishing.^ 

 

I was fortunate enough to catch the most fish!  I caught 5 (I think) the first day, and 1 the second!  I haven’t fished in YEARS!!!!!  So much fun!!  We were catching and releasing – mostly because we didn’t want to go to that much trouble for dinner during our vacation weekend!!

 

K caught the smallest fish, and I think the only bass. 

G caught a couple, too!

 

  

Bettye joined us the second day of fishing.  She didn’t catch anything, but we were soooooo glad she made the effort to come out! 

 

My first and second day crappe – the second one was definitely bigger than the first, so I’m certain I didn’t catch the same one twice!

Playing “Catch-Phrase” – we paused for a queenly wave at the camera.  From left to right – Jeanne, the baby sister, but not the youngest of our bunch; Martha, second in our birth order; Greta, our dear, precious sister-in-love, wife of our brother who passed away 19 years ago today; Bettye, firstborn of this bunch, is at the far right; and Karla, our baby sister-in-love, wife of our baby brother, Dave.  I am taking the picture, so there you have us – the Allen girls!!

Well, I’d better get off here – tomorrow, we are all going to Mama’s to get the last of the stuff out of the house.  I have to check on electricity and water to see what needs to be done there, and Bill has a follow-up appointment after his surgery last week.  Oh, did I tell you he had a pin put in his big toe on Thursday?  He did, and he is doing well now, although he was hurting pretty badly Thursday and Friday.  He did way more than he should have today, but seems to be okay!  God is so good!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to News!

  1. redladybug18 says:

    Such wonderful news you have here! How fun to have your grand kids back in the area as well as getting to have one on the way!That’s so special that all of you girls were able to get together and that house looks like such a fun place to do that!  Way to go on catching those fish.  I’ve fished several times in my life but I think I’ve only ever caught one fish…I’m not a good fisher I guess.

  2. Congratulations on all that good news!!!  I know you are thrilled!!  And it looks like you all had a wonderful time – I am sooooo glad to see you so happy and hear about you laughing and enjoying yourself!!  

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    You have some great pictures here that I hadn’t seen………….LOVED the lake house retreat w/my sistas!! I don’t know if you & Jeanne know how really special this was to me! I’ll treasure it forever – HOPE we get to do it again next year.Since we already discussed your g’babies & new one on the way, I’ll just reiterate how special I think it is for you & Bill.  Love you, my sista!!

  4. So happy for you, getting to spend time with your sisters. It made me long todo the same.I’m so excited for Em and Nate!! I know youve got to be beyond happy. I wish so badly I had the relationship with my in-laws like y’all have! It’s precious!

  5. grace_to_be says:

    oh, that IS big news!! so excited for you.. how wonderful to get another grandbaby to be loving on. and nate and emily coming is going to be so fun, having them close like that! though, like you said,  i feel for bad she has to leave her family – – i know the great relationship she has with you will help w/ the homesickness. that lake house is beautiful and what a perfect sounding getaway.. i love times like that. so refreshing. those fish are huge, girlfriend!! i’m impressed. šŸ™‚ happy thursday. xo

  6. AuntGen says:

    Ok, I totally commented on this the first day I saw it on fb! My internet connection has been so iffy lately that I guess it didn’t “take”. I wish I could remember what I said!  I love the pictures, and I loved our get-away, and I love having your babies home, and I love that “we’re” having a new grandbaby.  That about sums it up, I think! Oh, and I love you!

  7. I loved this post so much fun with your family, what a beautiful place to have a get together gorgeous & looks like the weather held up for you guys too…oh congrats on the pregnancy I know you all are excited. & on the move coming up hope all goes well.ryc: Thanks hon I posted a reply to you on my page lol…..hugs….Linda

  8. O btw I love to play “Catch Phrase”!

  9. Wow that’s so exciting about Pam and Will! I haven’t even been home in 8 months, but i miss em and nate and the kiddos so much. enjoy them for me, we miss you all

  10. pettybunch says:

    @Airforce_Wife2011 – Yes, Pam and Will are SO excited, too! They had been praying for this baby for 2 years!!  I know you miss all your family – it’s wonderful you get to see them in June!!

  11. @pettybunch –  yes, we’re super excited to see them in July =)

  12. pettybunch says:

    @Airforce_Wife2011 – Oops, I thought it was June! Well, anyway, I know y’all will have the best time ever, no matter what month!!

  13. Haha, that’s ok, and thank you, 2 months and 18 days till we’re home! =D I’m counting down, only about 20%. Left

Leave a Reply

