My Birthday!

 

Yesterday was my birthday.  We love birthdays in our family, so my kids had been discussing what to do off and on for a couple of weeks.  Well, mostly off during the time we were getting Bo and Em moved and settled.  Dan and Em had mentioned it a couple of times, so I told them that my dream birthday for this year was a simple gathering at one of our homes so the babies could enjoy it, and we could enjoy them.  Going out without them wasn’t even a thought, and taking them to a restaurant felt like it would put too much stress on all involved!  I knew Arulai would absolutely love a birthday party, so I definitely wanted her involved. 

 

Dannye and Emily took my wishes and gave me exactly what I wanted!  Dan spent the night at Bo and Em’s Thursday night, and they prepared for the “party” there.  I am amazed at how quickly Emily has made their temporary house a home!  She placed their furnishings in just the right order, and while the house is old and definitely temporary, it is so very lovely as far as what she has done with it!  Arulai was the main party decorator, and she took her job very seriously!  It was adorable, and I’ve never been more blessed than when I walked into the house and she shouted, “Surprise!!”

Dan and Em baked a Pink Lemonade Cake, which recipe I got from my sister Bettye’s Pinterest.  It was soooooo yummy!  It’s made with pink lemonade concentrate in both the cake and the icing, and it’s wonderfully tart!  And it’s pretty, too!  We invited Gen, Amy, and Missy to come for cake and icecream during the afternoon.  We love any excuse to get together, and we had a really nice visit with our yummy cake!  I would have loved for my brother and sis-in-love to be there, but they both had to work.  Bill was going to come for cake, but was expecting someone from work to come by, so he stayed home.  Dannye and Emily also prepared dinner – Chicken Fricassee by Dan, and Antipasto Salad by Em!! – for just our family that evening, so he got to come over later.  (He had to work for his supper by installing Em’s washer and dryer. silly)

 

Now for my outfit… My precious Tater sent my birthday package, and this was inside!  I LOVE the dress!  It is so rare to find a cute dress in my size that is long enough for my nearly 6′ frame!!  I don’t mind some of my skirts being just below my knee, but because the bulk of my height is in the legs, skirts look much shorter on me than, say, my youngest (short) daughter!!  Add to that the fact that I’m 52 years old now… well, I just like my skirts to be a little longer, and this dress is PERFECT!!  Pam also sent the hat.  I don’t wear hats much, but I LOVE them!  When I walked out to show Bill my outfit, he said, “You look cute as a button in that hat!”  That made me smile!

So Happy Birthday to me!  It really was perfect, and I’m so thankful for a family who loves me so much!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My Birthday!

  1. Happy Birthday, friend!  And you are as cute as a button in that dress.  I’ve taken to buying most of my dresses from e-bay.  I often find them for a very impressive low price — often paying less for the dress than the shipping.  I just have to keep looking, but 18W has plenty of pages, and NO, I don’t like most of them, but every now and then, tucked into a corner somewhere, is a dress that no one else wants.It looks like a wonderful party.  That cake looks scrumptious, too.  And your grandchildren will remember you as someone who not only had time for them, but MADE time for them.  Such a great opportunity — such a great thing to be doing.  Thanks for sharing this post and the lovely pictures.  Blessings for a great year ahead. 

  2. pettybunch says:

    @Buckeyegirlie – I have shopped on ebay for my dresses, too!  It’s just about the only place I can afford to buy tall clothing!  Thank you for your birthday blessing – I’ve missed you coming by, but I know you’ve really had your hands full lately!!

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    Nina – that dress & HAT are adorable……….you look toooo cute! I just love the whole outfit! Pammie did good……….LOVE IT!!

  4. Mottsngbury says:

    Where were the other little kiddies………I need pictures of them, too……great party & fun from your girls……….

  5. grace_to_be says:

    happy haPpY birthday sweet nina!!! looks like the perfect time~ that pink lemonade cake sounds amazing. i love anything tart. and PINK! šŸ˜‰ and you’re just positively glowing.. that’s so cool how the dress fit you perfectly w/out you ever even trying it on. a pure God thing, yes! love those kinds of things. and the hat.. such a classy, feminine touch. i hope when i’m 52, i’ll look as good. šŸ™‚ seriously. blessed that God brought you into my life through this here blogging thing. šŸ™‚ what a source of encouragement your friendship has been~ love you. 

  6. grace_to_be says:

    wanted to say too what a sweet mother in law you are! i love how you’re just always praising emily and speaking so highly of her.. i hear/ see mother in laws like you and take mental note to BE THE SAME someday!!! šŸ™‚

  7. inanorchard says:

    You look absolutely fetching!!  Love the dress and the hat.  Happy Birthday!  Love all the fun pictures especially pictures of beautiful little girls with dark hair, blue eyes and freckles… melt me!  And the cake is looks delicious.  I’ve seen that recipe floating around on Pinterest, it’s always nice to hear a real life review.PS~ all this time I thought I was subscribed to you only to find out that I wasn’t!  So happy I figured that out šŸ™‚

  8. redladybug18 says:

    Happy Birthday to you!  The Cake looks so yummy and You look darling and cute!  How fun to be able to get together with your family and just enjoy being with them!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – Selah and Titus were napping during the cake party.  Dan put the camera away after that and never got it out again!! I will have some soon, though.  I’m keeping them while Dan and Em go shopping Monday!  If it doesn’t rain, I’m taking them to the bluebonnets!!@grace_to_be – Thank you for your sweet thoughts about my in-law-ness!  Truly, I was blessed with the most loving and encouraging mother-in-law in the whole world, and I prayed long before I became one that I wanted to be even half the MIL she was to me!  God has answered that prayer by giving me an unbelievable love for Emily (and Will, Pamela’s hubby)!  That’s another God-thing!!  As is my meeting you through Xanga! Love you, too!@inanorchard – I’m so glad you figured it out, too!  And I love that you used the word “fetching”!  Such a great word!!  I’ve truly been blessed by your blog, and you are such an encouragement to me!@redladybug18 – Thank you for the birthday wishes, and the compliment!  It truly was a great day!

  10. Happy Belated Birthday, Nina!!  So glad that your family gave you such a wonderful party and that you had a nice day!  You do look beautiful in that dress!

  11. KatieWatt says:

    Love the outfit Mrs. Nina! You look great! So glad you had a happy birthday. Dan was telling me about that cake yesterday….it looks so yummy! And Miss Audie Lou just had chicken fricasee for her birthday dinner too! 

  12. Happy birthday! It sounds like you had a wonderful party. The cake looks so delish. Glad you had a good day! Blessings.

  13. Well my friend Happy belated Birthday. Sorry I am late in commenting I will explain in my next post why I was. Anyway I loved your party just precious. I absolutely love your dress & that hat did make you look cute as a button your hubby was right lol! I too will be 52 on my next bd in May. I didn’t know we were the same age lol, no wonder we get along so well lol.Hope this weekend was blessed for you & your lovely family ~Linda~ (((Hugs)))

  14. AuntGen says:

    My internet has been so on-again-off-again that I wasn’t able to comment the first time I read this post.  Your birthday party was a precious time, as my first visit back to the house since the “kids” have their stuff all moved in. It was all so lovely, and not at all the painful experience I was expecting! AJ was so excited to be decorating for you, and she was delightfully creative in her decorations, in spite of her NeeNee’s (rather indulgent) practicality! I’m so glad Titus and Selah woke up while we were all still there. Watching Titus play with the balloons was such a hoot!  The cake was delicious, and very much reminded me of Mama’s lemon cake with the sweet/TART glaze, but this one was just so… pretty!  The bonus of the whole affair for me was sitting out on the porch with Em and Amy listening to them discuss childbirth issues. Sweet communion, indeed!  P.S.  I absolutely love your new outfit, and like everyone else, agree with Bill about the hat. I love you so much and am looking forward to spending many more years of celebrating your bd with you!

  15. ABAHM says:

    A belated Happy Birthday to you!! What a fun filled party.  You do look so cute in that dress and hat.  It is wonderful to have a husband that feels that way and offers such compliments ( mine is like that too).  I also agree about the dress length, I have been happy to see more offered in that length and fullness this year. 

  16. maryhurlbut says:

    I KNOW you had a blessed birthday~ just by the smile on your face. And I think you have a gem of a husband…cute as a button indeed

  17. maryhurlbut says:

    The years seem to be flying by, I can’t keep up with all the people God has brought into my life. I want to thank you for you encouragement over the years, it means so much to me as an artist ( I compare myself to others at times and start to doubt) AND if not in this lifetime I’ll look forward to seeing you in Heaven

  18. pettybunch says:

    @maryhurlbut – Me, too, Mary! And I’m so hoping for a visit to California in my lifetime, and Laguna Beach looks like the perfect place to begin!!

Leave a Reply

