A New Rhythm

A few days ago I was commenting on a friend’s post, telling her that life moves in rhythms.  Not only the stages of childhood, adulthood, parenthood, etc., but also in the day to day things.  You know:  Sunday – church, Monday – housework, Tuesday – Family Day, Wednesday – more housework, and so on.  You’re rocking right along, then something happens to break the rhythm.  Perhaps something big is happening on Tuesday, so Family Day has to be changed to Wednesday. Or your Mama and Daddy need someone to stay home with them on Sunday, so church attendance becomes rare.  So then, after fumbling around a bit, you learn the new rhythm, and off you go!

Well, the Petty family is having to learn a new rhythm as of yesterday.  We went to the doctor on Wednesday, and Bill was released of his moon boot AND his restrictions.  So much to my sorrow, my hubby went off to work on Thursday after being off with this injury for about 2 months.  I have a tendency to make a long story longer, so I’ll cut to the chase:  Yesterday afternoon, Bill was laid off.  We’ve been with this company for 15 years (Sunday would have been his 15th year anniversary).  I say “we” because in many ways, this company was like a big family.  I went to work with Bill, riding all day in his truck with him as he went from job to job.  We planned our curriculum, studied house plans, dreamed dreams, learned about photography.  Bill always told folks that I loved his job more than he did!  He may have been right, but for most of that 15 years, he did love his job.  And during the down times he loved me enough to persevere until the good times came back!

In our 31 years of marriage, we have only  had a regular salary and benefits for the past 15.  We’ve always called it a gravy job, and we are so very grateful to have had it.  The job has been a truly FUN rhythm in our lives! 

But now we must learn a new rhythm.  Well, not so much a new rhythm as it will be revisiting an old, fairly familiar one.  Twice in our married life we have been self employed, and it looks as though we will have another go at it.  We had already been pondering the great possibilities of the photography business, and we now have the freedom to find out what they are.  Bill has always provided for our family in creative ways, and the Lord has always provided those creative ways for him to do so.  We’ve not only never gone hungry; we have ALWAYS had plenty.  Perhaps not plenty in the world’s eye, and perhaps not on my timing.  Yet, in my life, Jehovah Jireh has proven over and over that He “…shall supply all [our] need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” 

He has already begun His provision.  Even while Bill was cleaning out his work truck so his coworker could take it back to the office, I recieved a call about a large event whose guest list includes politicians and reporters, and they were in need of a photographer.  Bill called them back, and we got the job!  How good God is to give us such a clear picture of His care for us.  Perhaps Petty Family Photography will never make the Fortune 500; perhaps that won’t even always be the way God provides.  But I know His hand when I see it – His hand that forever shows us that we are loved with an everlasting love; and underneath are the everlasting arms.

I sent an email out to our close family and friends, and I told them,

“Bill was laid off today from his job of 15 years.  The company is facing the slow economy in the best way they know how, and Bill is one of about 11 folks who have been/will be laid off.  …We would love for you all to pray with us that we will see and know God’s leading in our lives, and that the opportunities for work will continue to appear.  We are also  praying that Bill’s former employer will be blessed beyond measure, and that the company will begin to thrive again.”

I hope you will pray with us, also.

God bless your day!

 
About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A New Rhythm

  1. Mottsngbury says:

    I love you, sister……….. I feel so sad especially since we talked so much a/b Bill’s job at the lake house.  Onward & upward from here for the Pettys.

  2. Bettyeboop says:

    You know how I feel. As you said, the Lord will provide. God bless your sweet family as you enter this new phase of your life. I love you. 

  3. loaine says:

    I’m impressed by your optimism!May God bless your family as you enter this new phase of your life!

  4.  I’m sorry to hear this, It always amazed my no matter what our situation, when growing up, my parents having eleven kids, providing food, cloths, and bills, ect, my parents ALWAYS trusted God, and never worried, about making ends meet, God always pulls through, there were a lot of Christmases where my dad thought we wouldn’t have enough money, But God proved them wrong. I know He won’t let you down, no matter what, I know it’s hard to trust him, there’s been times that at the end of the month, we only have 100 bucks in our account, I always trust God that we will make it through, we are also working on our budget.      Praying for you guys. 

  5. redladybug18 says:

    I can relate to the rhythm of life and how things go along the same for awhile and then new things get put in the mix to change it up.   how sad he lost his job.  God’s will is always perfect though and I know he’s got a great plan.  He’s never early and never late, but instead, right on time.  

  6. Wow your post brought tears of joy to my eyes…God is SOOOO GOOOOOD indeed He IS. You know he does always open another door & I am so thankful that he already had plans for you both…I share this joy with you right now & I join in thanking God for His glory.(smiling) Linda

  7. Wow, Nina – I am so sorry to hear about Bill’s job, but I am in awe over your very godly and faithful response, knowing that God is in control and has a plan!  I am looking forward to keeping up with this new stage of your lives!  Your are an encouragement to so many!

  8. from a new friend…praying for you! Sometimes its so hard to step out on faith when you cant see the next step to put your foot on. But we all know God ALWAYS provides. And this could very well be the sweetest journey yet!

Leave a Reply

