It’s quiet now in the Petty house.  Just an hour ago the place was abuzz with activity – the activity that can only happen when three spunky kiddoes are in the house.  Emily and Dannye Reigh joined their girlfriends for a girls’ night out, and with Bo working, Arulai, Titus, and Selah came to stay with Nonnie and Papa.  I was ready for them to come – I hadn’t seen them in a couple of days, and then it was only for a short visit.  Well, Arulai went berry picking with Jeanne and me, but after picking enough berries to cover the bottom of her little bucket, she declared that she had picked enough and was ready to be done.  She very quietly sat in the van listening to my Disney CD while Jeanne and I picked for another hour and a half, so that wasn’t much of a visit, either!

It was raining when the kids got here, so playing in the house was the only option.  Arulai is always up for a movie, and picked out Dumbo this time.  She will sit quietly and enjoy the whole thing without so much as a flicker of an eyelash.  Tybo is NOT a TV watcher, much like his Papa, so he is bouncing from one interesting thing to another – again, much like his Papa! silly  Selah just smiles and jumps up & down in her bouncer, happy as a little lark.  



After dinner, Titus followed me around hoping for some more “Pood? Pood?” The boy never gets full, and loves to eat just about anything.  Especially “Nanna” and “Appulshauce!” and “Pah-shu-kle” (popsicle).  It is quite common for me to notice a quietness in the room, and find him sitting happily beside the pantry with a bag of cereal or chips, munching away! 



Selah and Titus went to bed first, both pretty happy to go.  Arulai is never ready to go to bed, so I let her lay on the couch and watch the Aristocats.  It’s a Nonnie’s perogative.  She didn’t go to sleep even then, but when the movie was over asked for some music.  I have a Pandora station called “Fernando Ortega,” who is probably my favorite contemporary Christian artist, and whose music I can most always count on being quiet and lovely.  She was asleep almost before the first song was over.

Bill is out in his barn.  He is still adjusting to being laid off.  It’s funny – he’s been at home for the past 2 months, so his being here is not a new thing; but I see the weight of the knowledge of no coming paycheck heavily on him.  It seems each day we see yet another way that his former employer supplied, and we are now lacking.  We didn’t realize how much we took for granted! 

We did have an interesting photoshoot this week.  The Governor of our great State was making a speech and “unveiling” his new budget plan at a moving van warehouse in Houston, and we were asked by the owner of the moving company to photograph the event.  It was such an opportunity, and we had such a great time!  Governor Rick Perry shook my hand – actually spoke a few words to me!!  We also met several other Senators and Representatives.  I loved every minute of it!!



We also had a wonderful shoot last night.  My great-niece is a Senior, and Bill had found some great places that he thought Jessi would just love.  He was right, and we had such a good time with Jessi!  She’s an absolutely beautiful young woman, and loves the quirky and unique.  That’s right up my hubby’s alley, so he had a great time showing her these off-the-wall locations.  She appreciates Bill’s own quirkiness, so they especially enjoyed the whole evening!  Dan hasn’t gotten to edit her pics yet, but I will have to show them to you when she does – they are fabulous!

The biggest and best part of our week, though, was Arulai’s Heavenly Birthday!  Our little A.J. asked Jesus into her heart, and I just wish I could repeat what she said as her Mama led her to Christ.  She was so excited to tell Nonnie and Papa, and they had a little Heavenly Birthday party for her, which we were blessed to attend.  Such a precious, amazing thing to see your grandchildren come to Christ!!



Oh, my sweet sister, Jeanne, got her first grandbaby this week!  She may or may not post about her, but I’m at least going to give her a sporting chance before I post pics of little Marissa Dawn!  We are thankful to have her in the world with us finally – she was two weeks past her due date!!

Well, the girls are home.  Bo is staying in town tonight, so Emily and the kids are staying here with us!  I love them so much – this is gonna be good, I can tell!

We are photographing the Right to Life Banquet tomorrow night, then hopefully church on Sunday.  I pray your weekend is full of wonderful things!

God bless your day!



About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to

  1. Praise the Lord that Arulai knows Jesus as her Savior!  And what fun you had with your grandchildren!  Sounds like maybe the photography business is just what Bill needs to be doing right now!  I will be praying for it all, dear friend!

  2. redladybug18 says:

    That is such an fun honor to get to photograph an event with the gov!  Way to go!  How special that A trusted Christ!  That’s got to just be so exciting for you!

  3. Such wonderful photos……..especially the one where you celebrated her becoming a child of Christ, that is SO AWESOME!! That will be a much treasured snapshot.I’m also looking forward to my first Grand Blessing, but I will have to wait til September!

  4. ABAHM says:

    Oh so sweet to read of your grandblessings, especially that A trusted in Christ.  All the photos are darling.  I love you smiling into that little face! What a blessing to photograph Gov. Perry.  I will pray for God’s blessing on your photography business!

  5. Mottsngbury says:

    Love the picture of you & Selah – you can see the love in both your faces. Tell Bill to hang in there. And like you……..I hope Jeanne (or anyone) will soon post a/b little Marissa Dawn.  At least I may get to see her in person next month at 1st Saturday w/Greta……….love you sister………

  6. Hi! hope you don’t mind me visiting–your grandchildren are beautiful! –karen

  7. That sounds marvelous! I think Nonnie has every right to spoil. That’s what grandparents are there for! I am amazed by those 3 kids everytime I see another pic. They are just TO cute!

  8. pettybunch says:

    @lifeontheWink – Not at all!  I’m blessed you came by!  And thank you – I think our grandbabies are beautiful, too!!  We are blessed!

  9. My husband was laid off right after 9/11 happened, and there weren’t any jobs.  We started our own company and are still at it.  I hope that it works as well for you.  God bless you for your abiding faith in Him.

  10. I have been pretty absent so I apparently missed the news of the layoff! I am really sorry. That is so tough. 😦 I know the Lord is faithful to provide but we still have lots of questions left to grapple with! It sounds like you are enjoying those grandbabies! I’m sure they are soaking you up too!

  11. Wow sounds like full days at your house…& congrats on the photo shoot what a treat! Love all those grand babies, congrats to your sister on her first!Linda

  12. RY? No the mulch wasn’t even down when they dried out…in fact the mulch would keep in the moisture had I had it a head of time lol. So I say mulch away!

  13. grace_to_be says:

    oh, nina! so sorry to hear of bill’s lay off. i certainly understand about the weight of the future weighing down on him. i’ve seen that so much w/ shayne in this last year with all his job stuff .. we’re always saying how it’s hard to not live with money as a focus when it takes so much money to live!! i hate money!! 😉 but God is faithful and time after time we’ve seen Him provide, and from some of the craziest sources. places we never would have thought! i’ll be praying when you guys come to mind that He’ll cover your every need~i love LOVE that first shot! you’re such a sweet grandma~ so sweet about arulai trusting Christ. that’s always such a special thing when we see our kids/ grandkids following God.glad to hear of all your photo jobs~ how cool to do the pictures for the governor. that’s probably a pretty good gig to have on your resume!take care my friend and have a wonderful weekend. xo  

  14. RYC: Yes much better today since the clouds have moved on out, still no rain here but the weather has been rather nice so guess I should be thankful huh?

Leave a Reply

