A little catch-up

I know, I know.  It’s been way too long since I’ve sat at the computer and blogged.  I’ve even had a tough time checking in with my subscribers this past month!!  Part of the issue is that Bill and I are sharing the computer right now since his job loss also meant he lost his computer!  And it’s not that he is on the computer all the time, it is more that our best time for using the computer is usually the same for both of us – early or late in the day.  AND, since his computer use is usually more important than my facebooking or blogging, I think I’ll just let him have it!! silly

Just to give a quick update on our lives, things are rocking along very slowly in the job department.  Bill is doing all kinds of side work, which I guess isn’t really side work when it’s the only work you’ve got.  He has cleaned up a couple of estates, and so has loads of vintage and antique items to sell.  He has also done some mechanicking, but that has been much more hit or miss.

The photography business is at a standstill right now, but only because Dannye and I are out of town right now.  We are in Michigan with my Tater!  Pamela had come to Texas for a visit, and we had planned to drive her back rather than have her fly back.  Of course, when we made those plans, Bill still had a job, but it was a little too late to change our minds after she bought her one way ticket.  I had also made arrangements to take my godsons, Allen and Adam, on the trip with us because it had been such a long time since we’d gotten to spend any decent amount of time with them.  So, even though we are pinching every penny until it screams, we are on this trip, and we are having so much fun together!  And we have a whole bunch of sessions lined up when we get back home, as well as a couple of weddings.

Before I tell all about our trip, I need to catch you all up on the events during Pamela’s visit.  I will do that more with pics than with words, since it’s a little quicker that way.  I am using Dannye’s computer today during her break in photo work, so my time is limited.

 

Bo and Titus having birthday cake – Nathanael had given them both haircuts the night before, and we were all mourning the loss of all that beautiful hair!!

  

Gen and Mike, my sis and brother in law

Molly knows how to enjoy the hot weather!!

Bill had a birthday!  Pamela made is favorite German Chocolate Cake, and it was reportedly A.MAZ.ING!!  (I refrained – I’m now 15 lbs. down, and promised not to indulge myself until I’ve lost 20.)  My brother Dave and his family, my sis Jeanne and her hubby Mike, Michael and Amy, and Bo and his kids were there, and we had such a good time.  Emily had the opportunity to fly home for a long weekend, so she and Selah weren’t there.  They were definitely missed, but I know she had a GREAT time!!

A second event during Pamela’s visit was a baby shower!!  For her!!  We had so much fun planning, decorating, and buying for the shower.  It was precious, and beautiful, and wonderful.  So many precious friends came, and I just want to show you the love and fun we shared.

As you can see from this adorable sign, Pamela and Will are having a little girl – Chloe (after my Mama) Grace.

 

The decorations were beautiful, and the food yummy.  We had a brunch because the shower was on Memorial Day, and we thought we’d have a better turn-out if we did it early in the day.

My dear, precious friend Nancy prays over my Baby Girl.

     

Dannye made the adorable tissue poofs.  All the shower hostesses provided the food.

 

My beautiful sister and her beautiful first granddaughter, Marissa.  Amy, Jeanne’s precious daughter-in-law is absolutely in love with her little girl!

 

Lots of babies in attendance!  

 

These two beauties were so much fun!  Arulai, my Number One granddaughter, and Addison, a dear friend of the family’s daughter.

 

Pamela and her hostesses:  Alisa, Melody, Pamela, Katie, Dannye Reigh, and Amy

 

Pamela’s two besties, Alisa and Katie (my Kakie!)

The gifts.  See Pamela in the background holding Marissa – this is one of the main reasons for her visit to Texas, to meet her beautiful baby cousin!

 

I wanted Arulai to come to the shower so she could pass out gifts!  I wish there was a way to show her joy in all of Pamela’s gifts! 

  

 

Dannye had to take a pic of this envelope – it is made out to Pam & Will Petty – Petty is Pam’s maiden name!!

 

Pamela was completely enamoured with this little coat!  Little Miss Chloe will be born in October, in Michigan.  It’s COLD in October in Michigan!!

    

Many folks gave monetary gifts so Pamela can purchase her stroller combo.  She was so excited!!

 

The first pic here is of my two sisters-in-law: Karla, my brother’s wife, and Carroll, Bill’s sister.  I was so happy both of them could be there!

  

We had to play shower games, of course!  

   

Don’t you love these two little girls working on the game??  Neither of them can read yet, but oh, how they worked on that paper.  Both had good answers, too!

 

Kakie working hard on her game, too!

 

Beautiful Alisa – reckon she is getting answers from Sarah?? winky



Arulai and Addison were entertaining us at the end of the shower.  They were pretty good, too!

Well, I have pics of another event to share, but I’d better wait until next time.  I’m tired, and I’ve already put so many pics up!  I don’t want to over-burden you!!

We begin our journey home from Pamela’s on Monday, Lord willing.  Dannye and I will be dropping off the boys at their grandmother’s in Tennessee, then heading home from there.  I’m excited for the trip home, since we are taking a different route than usual.  And I’m ready to see my husband!!

God bless your day!



  

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A little catch-up

  1. enjoyed your pics! looks like a wonderful family. glad you had a good time–safe travels–karen

  2. AuntGen says:

    I’m always so glad when you post, but this time even more so because I miss you! I loved reliving Bill’s party and the shower through your pictorial stories. A.J. and her little friend were SO precious at the shower!  I’m glad you’re having a good time on your trip, but I know you miss Bill more than you miss your computer.  Have fun with your kids and give them my love!

  3. I am glad to hear that God is providing all different kinds of work.  Hang in there.  It will get better.

  4. And congratulations on losing all of that weight!  Well done!

  5. Such fun times! And I know this is totally off subject but I LOVE Alisa’s hair! That is the exact hair cut I’ve been looking for a picture of to show my stylist. LoL Lovely!I hope you’re trip is safe and uneventful.

  6.  Yay! I always love it when you post! I’m so glad y’all got to take this trip! What fun! Looking forward to hearing all about it! Pam’s shower was just wondeful!!! Loved every picture!  Thanks for taking the time to post. šŸ™‚

  7. ABAHM says:

    what a delightful shower…happy times!

  8. grace_to_be says:

    i sure hope bill will be able to find a job soon. i know that can be so stressful…the shower looks like a happy, fun time. i love showers! they just always seem to have so much hope and encouragement tied around them. the watermelon baby carriage is cute. i can barely cut one in half evenly. my husband says i’m the worst “cutter” in the world. ;)hope you’re back home now safe and sound. hugs~

  9. Wow what a lovely post I thoroughly enjoyed it! I live right on the Tn./Ga. line you will be passing right by lol.

Leave a Reply

