Seriously!

I feel like a newbie, coming to this blank page, trying to find the flow that really only comes from writing consistently.  I have been busy, really busy, and yet there have been times I’ve longed to get on here, perhaps even had a few minutes, but first one thing, then another prevents my efforts!!  Well, for right now, I have a minute, and am MAKING myself use it to write.

  

  

Much has gone on since I last wrote.  Dannye and I did go to Michigan to take my Pamela home and enjoy her & Will’s hospitality for another couple of weeks.  We took my 2 godsons, Allen and Adam, along for the ride, and enjoyed them so much!  They are now 16 and 11!!  We had such a great time with them – both of them are so witty, and cracked us up at every turn!  Adam and Will became fast friends, and as much as possible with Will’s work schedule, Adam dogged his steps!!  Allen took the term vacation seriously, and lounged and read and played board games the entire two weeks!  I loved playing Scrabble and Yahtzee with him – no one likes playing Scrabble around here!! 

While we were at Pamela’s, we also went to the cottage and took the boys tubing.  They had great fun!  I love going to the cottage, Will’s family’s lakehouse.  It is one of the most peaceful places I’ve ever been!  The cottage itself is simply decorated, but so beautiful. It is right on the water, yet when you are inside, you don’t really hear the boats and jet skis.  The wall facing the lake is all windows, and everytime I’ve been there, the sun is shining, the lake is sparkling, and everyone is smiling ridiculously with the pure joy of being there!  My son-in-law is a rather serious young man (not at all without a sense of humor!) but when he is out there, whether fishing, tubing, or on the jet ski, he is all laughter and fun. 

 

  

 

Isn’t he a nut?

Another fun part of my time at Pamela’s was Will’s softball games.  He is on their church’s softball team, and before we came, they had only won 1 game!!  We fixed them up, though – they won both the games we attended, and went on a winning streak that was only broken last week!  Fun stuff!!

 

The official scorer!

Then there was Vacation Bible School!  Will was in charge, and he and Pamela had been working so hard on it!  We were there for the first night, and it was GREAT!  The kids loved Will, and 2 children made decisions for Christ on the first night!!

  

On the trip home, Dannye and I dropped the boys off with their grandmother in Tennessee, then trekked on back to Texas. Since being home, we’ve filled our days with yardwork and babies!  We’ve been bless with a LOT of rain since we’ve been back home, and while it is tempting to complain about the gray days, I refuse to do so.  Last year’s empty lake, dying forest, and wildfires are way too fresh on my mind.  Thanking my Lord for this rain, even when the water is standing on my patio!!

My new cabinet! I want it out on my patio, but Bill says it will get ruined, so I will move it to a better place.

 

   

My babies are going to wake up soon.  I am giving Emily a night away with Dannye Reigh, who is house sitting for some friends.  They will be eating pizza and chocolate, watching movies and getting all the rest they can!  I, on the other hand, will be snuggling, kissing, playing, and feeding three small ones who, amazingly enough, love me back so much I am stunned by it!!  A moment ago, Arulai called me to fix her movie for naptime, and I told her that I just love hearing her call me Nonnie.  She asked me, “Does it make your heart grow?”  Yes, Arie-Jean, it does!

 

 

 

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seriously!

  1. AuntGen says:

    I came home from church this afternoon and found I was able to connect, so here I am! I’m so glad you wrote, as always, and loved reading about the vaca and about your “growing heart”.  Your grandbabies are so much a part of who you are that I’m not sure where they begin and you end! Like your own children, they will always love you and no matter where they are, they’ll always have the assurance that there is a Nonnie in Texas who loves them deeply.  I hadn’t seen the pregnancy shoot of Pam and Will~ so precious!. I know you’re anxious to hold little Chloe in your arms and feel your heart growing even more. Love you so much!

  2. pettybunch says:

    Oh, Gen!! So glad you were able to get on!!  Hope your internet healed itself!

  3. redladybug18 says:

    sounds like such a fun happy summer so far!  That tubing looks like so much fun!  For some reason it can seem to rain all around us but we keep ending up with just sprinkles where I live :/  Just love those pictures of your grand daughters! 

  4. Good to hear from you! Sounds like you’re having quite the summer. Emily an your son are so blessed with such lovely children!

Leave a Reply

