I have too much to do to be sitting here in front of my computer, but here I sit, anyway!  It is raining again, but I am hoping for a break in the rain this afternoon because we have a photo session to shoot.  The couple is getting married in September, so we don’t have a lot of time to get their engagement shots done!  We have a wedding next weekend, and all manner of stuff going on in August, then we’re at September!  Can you even believe we’re halfway through the summer??

The rain has made July seem more like April, with milder temps than we ever have this time of year, and all the rain.  I know that when this lingering system is gone, there will come all the complaints about the heat.  August is our hottest month, and it’s doubtful the rain will last through the next 6 weeks!  I, myself, am looking forward to it – summer is my favorite season, even when temps soar to 100 degrees!  I’ve always said I’m like a lizard – I have to crawl out of a hot rock to get warm!!

The mornings are a favorite time for me right now.  I have finally gotten my habit back of taking my Bible and notebook out onto my patio for a bit of quiet time.  Most of the time, Bill is working in his barn, so I hear the clinking and knocking of his tools in the background.  It’s a beautiful sound to me, and it only seems to enhance my gratefulness to the Lord for this life He’s given me.  If I don’t sleep too late, I normally get my reading and journaling done just as Dannye Reigh comes out to feed her animals.  She will often then sit with me for a minute before we go in to begin our day.  It’s just a glorious way to begin the day!

Today, the rain sent me in just after I finished my journaling.  I hadn’t slept in, but there were many distractions this morning.  The electric company was cutting down a tree at the edge of our neighbor’s yard, so there were large chunks of tree falling hither and yon.  Then I was texting back and forth with Pamela to check on her.  She’s been sick with near pneumonia, but is feeling better today.  Dannye’s female cats have taken seriously the command to be fruitful and multiply, and occasionally one meets with an early demise for one reason or another.  It’s country life, and while we don’t necessarily like that part, we accept it.  At least for the most part.  Dan found one of her favorite kitties dead this morning, and it was such a sad time for her!  She rarely lets it get to her, but this morning it did.  Kinda puts a cloud of a different kind on the day!

I’m going to have to get off here.  There are dishes to wash, and the appointment will be upon us before we know it!

Before I go, though, I have to show you one of my favorite things about humid weather – fungi!  I love mushrooms!  They’re pretty, and soft, and so intricately delicate!

 

 

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. AuntGen says:

    I love your love of fungi and the way you love your life. So glad PK is feeling better, and so sorry about the favorite kitty. Love you! 

  2. redladybug18 says:

    oh wow, you’ve got quite the mushrooms!  I love mushrooms and most of all taking pictures of them.  They look like little families to me up close.  As for the rain it seems like everywhere but here it rains, no it pours.  We’ve gotta a little bit here and there but nothing like a good drenching to fill up the cracks

  3. Thank you for that glimpse into your day!  And may God bless your day as well!

  4. Mornings in Idaho are the best part of the day.  Temps soared to 108 last week.  I hope that they are milder this week.  Thank you so much for sharing.  

  5. Those mushrooms look like a fairy circle lol! Love it. Life on the farm lol. Hustle, & bustles of ones life lol. We too have had 1 wet July here in NW Ga. and the temps have been mild to say the least. I am happy for the rains. If only I felt better. Oh well life goes on….hope your day is blessed .

  6. grace_to_be says:

    crazy you talk of having so much rain, when up here things are as brown as brown can be! and you’d think we’d be the ones with all the rain and you all down there would have the drought! šŸ™‚ it really seems the last few years weather patterns have changed so much everywhere~ this summer has just flown by so fast! i can’t believe it. and i’m like you – – i’m a lizard too! ;)) love it hot HOT!your mornings sound so lovely~ i’ve enjoyed our porch more this year… sneaking out there early, when i can, and having some quiet time w/ the Lord. although it seems with little ones, it doesn’t matter how early i try to get up, they are up then too! on those mornings i try to remind myself there are days/ years of quiet time uninterrupted in the future. ;))your mushrooms are cool! i like how they look like they’re forming a circle in that one shot. i never used to like eating mushrooms but shayne loves them and he’s kinda grown off on me through the years.. now i love cooking some up w/ onions and peppers. yum! šŸ˜‰ but they say too the older you get the more tastebuds you loose. hee hee. so that could be it too! :)hope the rain has let up and august delivers some sunshine and HEAT for ya! :))thanks for your friendship here. and your sweet message about praying for mom. means so much.xo.

Leave a Reply

