Playing Catch-up…AGAIN!

I think, rather than try to go back and catch you all up on my life in the past month, I’ll begin with last week, and if the rest of it flows, I’ll flow along with it!

Last week was one of those, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…” weeks.  In our world of unemployment, we faced  financial, emotional, and mental situations that seemed to try to drain the life out of us.  We had bills to pay, and nothing with which to pay them.  Bill had made calls, filled out online apps, and went in person to find work, but to no avail.  Many of you have seen how that affects a guy – hard stuff to deal with.  How do folks without the Lord go through times like these?? I’m sure I don’t know!  What I do know is that our Heavenly Father takes care of our needs, whether financial, emotional, or mental, and He didn’t fail us this time, either. 

Now, this is not to say that we struck the motherload.  Not at all.  We were able to pay the electric bill, which in these August days is a great blessing!  We haven’t done without food, either!  We have the sweetest elderly neighbor couple who have decided to put us on their bread list.  Evidently, they get day old bread from a local grocery store and pass it along to their neighbors.  Seriously, they must think we are awfully needy, because my freezer is FULL of French bread, Sour Dough bread, hotdog and hamburger buns, and several specialty breads!!  I love this precious couple.  They are ministering to needs as best they know how, and I am grateful.  We did have to tell them to give the next gift to another needy family, as we can’t eat as fast as they bring it!

These precious gifts, the kind neighbors, the timely sale of belongings or check in the mail, do far more than pay bills.  These things show us the hand of a loving Heavenly Father, who not only sees every sparrow fall, but cares for His children even more!  They encourage us deep in our souls.  We can face one more day, one more week, knowing we have our Abba Father watching over us, being Himself – the Blessed Controller of all things! 

So, as the days are going by with the worries of this life, we had a couple of events facing us last week as well.  The first, and the biggest stress factor, was a kind of trade show in our small town.  This event was designed to showcase businesses in and around Montgomery.  I wanted to show off Bill’s artwork, as well as Petty Family Photography, so I designed our booth to be rather rustic with a bit of modern touches.  I’m not particularly good at this kind of thing, but again, God is faithful.  Where my creativity and energy stopped, He filled in!!  Bill had brought home several old barn doors, so he hinged them together for my backdrop.  I put his framed art prints on the back door, then flanked them on the right and left with his and Dannye’s portraiture prints.  I think it turned out beautifully!

 

(That’s my Lovey right there! ^^ )

We had a couple of drawings during the 2 day event, so many folks that might have passed right by our booth stopped to enter to win a framed 16 X 20 print of Bill’s “Moonlight Over Texas”, as well as a free photo session – one given on each of the two days.  We made over 100 contacts (those whom I have info on with which to contact them again), and so many people were so enthusiastic over Bill and Dannye Reigh’s work!  I loved every minute of the show.  There were different groups that provided entertainment, which Bill graciously allowed me to go watch; there was a style show of the clothing from the different boutiques in Montgomery; there were restaurants giving out samples, and home bakeries selling their wares.  It was simply FUN!!  My hubby would tell you that it was fun, but I’m not sure the fun outweighed the very hard work it was for him to load those barn doors,  put them together in our booth, take them back down again, then unload them back at home!  He’s gracious to me, though, and put feet to my ideas!

We have also had some success with notecards of Bill’s prints.  These are the designs I have so far:

I love them.  I think Bill has such a great eye, and he often sees something beautiful (or at least intriguing) that others are passing right on by!

I will have to tell you about the other event of the week another time.  Dannye Reigh is ready to leave for Bible Study, and I am going with her so I can keep my grandbabies while Emily joins her at Bible Study.  I’m sorry I’ve been absent for so long.  I’ve tried to keep up with you all by reading and commenting.  Just know that I pray for you as I read, and I’m grateful for my online friends!

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing Catch-up…AGAIN!

  1. I think your display is AWESOME!!! You both did an excellent job.And the note cards are simply stunning! Like you said, he has a great eye!!!!Thank you for the post tho, overall, it was a wonderful reminder that our Heavenly Father DOES provide. And that dear sweet couple, I am so happy you have somebody like that in your life.

  2. Hutch5 says:

    so good to hear from you, nina! your display turned out AWESOME. very cool looking!! and i think God has gifted both you and bill with an exceptional eye to capture beauty. i hope you get lots and lots of work as a result of the show. i so understand about bills coming in, nothing to pay them with. but yet.. seeing God’s hand of faithfulness in it all. the older couple giving you bread makes me smile. we used to have a couple that sounds so similiar. hey, maybe they ARE the same! angels unaware, right!! :)) you bless me with your positive outlook and faith that keeps clinging to Him, even though things are tough. love you~

  3. redladybug18 says:

    God is amazing and yeah, don’t know what others do without him in those tough times.  Your note cards are awesome and the display looks great!

Leave a Reply

