Joys and Heartaches

Bill and I had such a great time away.  My sister and her hubby are summer camp managers/hosts for a campground on the Guadalupe River just outside of New Braunfels, Texas.  We were able to go in the middle of the week, thus getting a good deal on one of their campers, and avoiding the crowds of weekenders.  It was pretty hot, but there was a nice breeze, and in the shade it was more than tolerable.  My sis, Bettye, sat out with us on her “front porch” area most of the daytime hours we were there, and her hubby, Scooter, cooked for us several times!  We are big talkers in our family, and my hubby fits right in there, so getting a word in edgewise was tough.  You learn as an Allen to jump in where you can and hang on, or you learn not to talk at all!  I’m sure not all was said that was wanted to be said, but it was GOOD!  Just a relaxing, wonderful visit. 

The Guadalupe in the moonlight

Bill thoroughly enjoyed taking pictures of the river, the moon, and anything else he found.  He hasn’t been able to do that…well, since he’s been out of work, actually.  So our three days off were a sweet respite for both of us!

My “coming home” Blizzard.  She was such a good sport!

He also bought me a Dairy Queen Blizzard.  Actually, we had one on the trip over, then another on Wednesday, then another on the trip home! I’ll be paying for it for a couple of weeks, but it was worth it.  My FAVORITE summertime flavor is Strawberry Cheesequake.  That changes in October, because that’s when they come out with the Pumpkin Pie Blizzard.  It’s only out for a month, which is totally vexing, but it makes it all the sweeter!  After the Pumpkin Pie Blizzards go away, I flit from one flavor to another until spring, at which time it is back to my Strawberry Cheesequake.  Ooooohhhhhhh, it is so yummy!  What is your favorite Blizzard flavor?

My BEAUTIFUL not-so-little-anymore Melissa (Missy)

I was looking forward to coming back home and getting back on a bit of a schedule, as school has started in our area, and that always causes me want to make schedules and plans.  I am continuing to home educate my niece, Missy, and I love making out our lesson plans.  This year, we will have to play more catch-up, as we are still not quite caught up from the ups and downs of our caring for my folks, and now dealing with all the stuff.  We HAVE finally gotten everthing sold (or in the paperwork processes of being sold), so hopefully we are home free!

Bryan Chanse Seiter, when Bill and Dannye did his Senior pics – 2010

As we got up the morning after Bill and I got back, we got the tragic news that the precious son of our dear friends (and neighbors at Mama and Daddy’s house) was killed in a car wreck just Friday morning.  What a great young man, Chanse Seiter.  He ALWAYS had a genuine, big ol’ smile on his handsome face!  And what a tease!  He was so much fun, and so very beloved by all who knew him.  He was in the Army National Guard, too.  He and his brother Cole always watched out for my Daddy when Dad was still trying to do his yardwork and stuff.  Many’s the time they have rescued Daddy from situations that could have been quite dangerous.  They always love to tell about getting him and his lawn tractor untangled from the peach tree!  Oh, how they would laugh!!  They never laughed at Daddy, though; treated him and Mama with utter respect!  My heart aches for my dear friends.  I am so thankful that Chanse was raised in the nurture and admonition of the Lord, and that he knew Jesus Christ as his personal Savior.  While that doesn’t change the hurt we feel in his being gone, it certainly gives peace and joy that we will one day see him again. 

Gen’s wares – except her baked goods.  Those go too fast to get pictures!

Today was Lone Star First Saturday, and Bill was supposed to have his booth open there, but we just weren’t up to it.  I was able to go be with Jeanne and Dannye, who always helps her Gen “hawk” her wares.  It was miserably hot, and they had to move to a different location on pavement, versus grassy area in which we are usually located.  There was a fairly regular breeze, though, and occasional cloud cover, which helped.  I don’t think Gen did as well as she normally does, but she did sell quite a lot of her breads, pound cake, jams and jellies.  She even sold a pair of her hubby’s Piney Woods Stemware that he makes.  Karla also had a booth, and she said she did pretty well, herself.  Bill and I will open back up in November, and it will be much cooler then!  Even if it isn’t normal November cool, it will be better than today!

 

My Tater, 34 weeks!

Pamela is doing pretty well.  She will see a perinatologist next week (I think) because of some questions her doctor has about her last 2 ultrasounds.  The baby appears fine, but is growing rapidly here at the end, and they just want to check out a couple of things.  No one is getting their panties in a wad; just being cautious.  Dan, Bill, and I will be leaving at the end of this month to try and be there to welcome little Chloe Grace into the family.  We are just hoping she doesn’t come TOO early! shocked

Well, I feel like I am caught up a little.  Y’all please be praying for Chanse’s family and friends.  His service will be Monday, and I can’t even imagine how this family is hurting right now.  Even having lost 2 brothers and now my parents, I still cannot grasp losing a child.  Thank you for praying.

God bless your weekend.

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Joys and Heartaches

  1. loaine says:

    Fall is the only time that I eat blizzards because of the flavor~Pumpkin Pie!Love it!Last year we did a week-end get-away and we were out of state(neighboring)and stopped at a Dairy Queen.They didn’t have the flavor,Pumpkin Pie.I was disappointed and the one I chose instead just wasn’t as good.So sad about that young man that died.Hope all goes well with the new grandbaby!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @loaine – Good to hear from you!  I haven’t seen you around in awhile.  Yep, the Pumpkin Pie is definitely the best!

  3. the pics are just GORGEOUS of Guadalope!!!! So glad you 2 had some times for yourselves.Yes, Chance is a “looker!” Even at my rough ole age of 44!! LOL So sad his life was cut short. Praying his family and friends are healing. Praying for the baby too…..me and you both are anxiously awaiting aint we!! You, a Chloe Grace, me a Jolene Grace! Strawberry Cheesequake is my all time favorite too!!!! LOVE THAT STUFF!! Mountain Mans is Georgia Mud Fudge. We make many a late night run just to go get one!! The Gens booth items…the jars on top of stemware: thats what we all here Redneck Wine Glasses Gonna make some for Christmas here!

  4. I love your blog.  I feel like old friends, and we have never met!  My Grandma Donahue used to live in Belleville, Texas, not all that far from New Braunfels.  I am glad you had a good trip!

Leave a Reply

