“Hello, it’s Mr Nasty.”

My favorite movie (almost of all time) is You’ve Got Mail. That’s where I got my byline quote.  This morning, another quote is hitting me, all too close to home. 

I am noticing something.  As I get older, and more especially as I draw nearer to my Heavenly Father, I see the ugly inside me bubbling up to the outside.  I know that seems odd, but it’s not, really.  My prayer, and indeed my belief, is that as I am drawing nearer to Christ, I am becoming more like Him.  As I am becoming more like Him, the ugly inside me has to leave! The Lord does that so I can see who I am, or who I was before Christ saved me.  The trouble is, sometimes as the ugly comes out, it lands on the people around me!! Enter the quote: 

“Do you ever feel you’ve become the worst version of yourself? That a Pandora’s box of all the secret, hateful parts – your arrogance, your spite, your condescension – has sprung open? Someone upsets you and instead of smiling and moving on, you zing them. “Hello, it’s Mr Nasty.”

I just hate it when that happens! 

As I was having my quiet time this morning, reading in Leviticus about all the sin offerings, what they entailed and why one needed to make them.  I’ve been taught that because Jesus is the fulfillment of the Law, you see Him throughout the Law and the entire Old Testament.  I found myself feeling overwhelmed with gratefulness that Christ was that sacrifice, the offering that fulfilled all those Laws I was reading about, because I’m not sure how I would ever remember all the laws through which one attained holiness and access to a Holy God.  My heart is so full of joy that Christ made that way possible, because I could NEVER do it myself.  Mr. Nasty shows up all too often!

The Father is continuing to mold me and make me into the image of His Son, and the way this happens is that He (Jesus) must increase, and I must decrease. So the more “ugly” that gets squeezed out, the more room there is for Jesus!  And truly, as difficult as this purging can be, that is all I want:  to be like Jesus!  I am so grateful for His forgiveness when my Mr. Nasty comes pouring out. (1 John 1:9 –  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.)  And I pray that those I hurt will forgive me, as well.  (Matthew 5:23 – 24 – Therefore if you bring your gift to the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar, and go your way. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.)

I have a lot to do as I face the rest of my day.  Hoping to show Jesus way more than Mr. Nasty as I move forward!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Hello, it’s Mr Nasty.”

  1. this is a wonderful post and so well put!!!! 

  2. Agh, all to true and something I believe we can all relate to!

  3. we are all a work in progress–karen.

  4. Amen, Sisters!  We are all in this together!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @victoriantomboy – @babybreathblossoms – @lifeontheWink – @piecedtreasures – Thank you, sweet Sisters!  I sure am thankful to have great friends who are on the same side of this struggle with me!

  6. We are soul sistas!  That is also one of my favorite movies of all time.  I have no idea how many times I have watched it.  I recognized the quote immediately.  Love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. redladybug18 says:

    definitely know how that goes and it sure does seem like the older I get the more mr. nasty shows up.

  8. Oh thank you for this post.  It explains a great deal about me.  May His face shine upon you.

  9. grace_to_be says:

    love that movie. that quote. and your heart!! arg. move over, mr. nasty. i want jesus spilling out instead.

  10. Love this post as I so can relate—Mr. Nasty rears his ugly head to often. I am so loving all your posts!And so thankful for your prayers for us—!

  11. ABAHM says:

    You put this so well.  Praying for us all to keep looking at Jesus.  Love to you!

  12. Ah thank you I sure appreciate all your prayers…hey by the way “You got mail” is one of my favorite movies too I never get tired of it :)!

Leave a Reply

