In Everything Give Thanks

I’ve had a bit of a Jonah day, and I’m working hard not to make it a Jonah week, month… You know how ya get to feeling sorry for yourself? 

Bill’s job is just so wonderful.  He is truly enjoying the work, the folks are great; I don’t think we could have asked for more!  His boss rescued Bill’s day yesterday, as we had a wedding scheduled, and Bill was running late. It was a pleasant surprise for him to be able to turn his truck over to his boss and hurry on to the venue.

Of course, there’s always some catching up to do when you’ve been out of work, and that tries to get me down a bit.  Catch up on that bill, buy gas for a gas hog vehicle we have been using until I get my van back, take care of photography business (you have to spend money to make money…), and the list goes on.

Then, my washing machine went out a couple of weeks ago.  It fills. It agitates. But it won’t drain or spin.  I have washed clothes by hand, taken a couple of loads over to Gen’s, and dug out tons of clothes I haven’t worn in awhile, just because they’re clean! 

So, this morning, my hubby found a machine on Craigslist very near our home, and he went early to buy it.  It looks like brand new!  He put a little soap in it to run it through a small cycle before I started my piles of laundry. Well….. it doesn’t work!  It has EXACTLY the same problem that my washer has.  Can you even believe that??Well, Bill is dealing with that, and in the meantime, I’m hoping there’s something clean to wear to church tomorrow…

On days like today, when the world seems to be crashing down one washing machine at a time, my usual “life gave me lemons, so I’ll make lemonade” attitude suddenly becomes overwhelmed with lemons!  So today, I’ve been frantically asking the Lord to reveal to my self-centered heart all the different recipes with which to use all these lemons!  And while I’m not sure I’ve used them all up, my heart is at peace, and I know that the Lord answered my prayer.

One of the things we asked Pamela to do when we came home was to send us a pic of little Chloe every day. She has done a great job of that, and this goes a long way toward showing me what to do with those lemons!  So I’m going to leave you with a few new pics of my newest grandbaby!

 

 

 

 

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In Everything Give Thanks

  1. AuntGen says:

    Lemonade, Lemon bars, Lemon pound cake, Lemon curd, Lemon pudding, Lemon chicken… You’re doing a great job of using those lemons and the Lord Jesus will help you find more and more recipes. He knows your discouragement and has just what it will take to lift you up. A big part of that recipe will be being at your church home in the morning. I’m praising Him that you get to go be with His people.

  2. loaine says:

    Sorry that you have an over abundance of lemons right now.Hope that soon changes!What a cute grandbaby!Love those pretty,adorable outfits and hairbows!

  3. she is absolutely beautiful, and the pics are wonderful! hope you get the washer situation under control soon. i tend to panic when my washer doesn’t work. we have an old one and it has some problems but we are trying to just keep using it until it dies.–karen

  4. pettybunch says:

    @lifeontheWink – My hubby is a firm believer in NOT paying the cost of a new washer because so many folks sell/give away perfectly good used ones. I’ve never owned a new one, but we seem to always have one!  I have no doubt that he will come up with another one!

  5. redladybug18 says:

    aw, I feel for you and hope you’re able to get back to washing soon.  In your situation a bird in the hand is better than two in the bush 🙂  I can’t believe they sold you a washer that didn’t work-just when you thought you could trust people with honesty!!  At any rate, the little girly is quite cute and a good blessing to count!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Giving the benefit of the doubt, I truly don’t think they knew it was broken. It was a man about my hubby’s age selling it for his son who just bought a new house with appliances. And it looks nice, so he may have had no reason to know it didn’t cycle all the way through. At least, that’s what I am telling myself!

  7. @pettybunch – that is a good way to be.  i also have never had a new washing machine.  my first house came with one 17 yrs. old and we had it for 13 more and it was still working (just a couple minor repairs) and this house came with one 6 yrs. old and its now 14.  i’m actually looking forward to splurging on a brand new one though 🙂 —karen

  8. Congratulations on the new grand baby ! She’s precious! Did they say the washing machine worked? You can get your money back if they did….

  9. Sweet! Hey, welcome back and thanks for visiting my site again! Come hang out more often! God bless, ~ Pete”As cold waters to a thirsty soul, so is good news from a far country.” Proverbs 25:25

  10. Those days that try to turn into weeks and months are not a fav of mine! But it looks as though you have the absolute perfect remedy! She just couldn’t possibly be any cuter!! Hope your days are going better and that the washer situation is resloved soon. I hate it when people sell broken things.

  11. And yet again! God bless, ~ Pete”Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

  12. Well my goodness I hate that about the washer should have known …where are all the honest folks any more?Isn’t she a living doll, so precious my goodness her eyes are wide open just a doll!Happy Thanksgiving my friend

  13. I am FINALLY getting to check in with you! Its been a while!It seems you and me BOTH have gotten a good serving of that sour lemonaide. I thought I was the only one having that kind of luck,. then I read your blog. Things are TRYING to get better here. S.L.O.W.L.Y. I sure hope they are going better for you. It just seems that sometimes when it rains, it pours. And know matter how strong our faith is, we just have those days that are just, well, plain upsetting. And we are human. Sometimes, I wished how I responded to things were better, but when you have those days time after time, its hard to keep a happy heart sometimes.But grandbabies always makes it better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Shes adorable!!!!

Leave a Reply

