Christmas Time’s a Comin’!

Time has a way of flying by, and I have a way of avoiding my blog, I think!  I’ve also been sick a few days last week, so I have a little excuse.  Since Thanksgiving, we’ve had White Christmas, brought Charlie home, done a little Christmas shopping, brought Charlie home, took the grandkids to our town Christmas parade, brought Charlie home, attended Bill’s company Christmas party, brought Charlie home, practiced for our church choir program, brought Charlie home…

It seems as though we have spent the past 3 weeks bringing Charlie back home.  At first, we found him on the local pound website.  A neighbor one street over saw him visiting a “girlfriend” but didn’t know who he belonged to.  The owner of the “girlfriend” is known to have shot a dog or two, and this kind neighbor didn’t want him to be harmed, so she hauled him to the pound.  Well, $105 later, we brought him home.  Bill met said neighbor, which is a good thing because Charlie has taken a liking to her.  We seriously bring him home at least once a day! We’ve chained him, locked him in our store house, he even spent the night INSIDE our house one night. The longest.night.ever!!!!!  He paced and whimpered all night long! Charlie would walk up to Molly and BEG her to wake up and play.  She couldn’t understand why anyone would want wake up at 2:00 and play. Neither could I.

Come to find out, our nice neighbor had a female dog that Charlie was interested in, therefore ol’ Chuck would do anything to get over to see her.  Another problem is that the neighbor calls EVERY time Charlie comes for a visit, and sometimes when he doesn’t.  She checks on him, brings collars that might keep him home (they don’t), she even offered the name of a discount neuter vet clinic.  We indeed plan to take care of that issue, but the vet hospital that the pound uses, the one that will get us $60 of our $105 back, hasn’t opened its doors yet. So she calls.  And calls.  Actually, the calls have stopped as of Friday.  I think it’s because we have managed to keep Charlie home for the most part.  He has gone astray a couple of times, but the neighbor must have been at work.  I’m so tired of keeping Charlie chained, though.  We used to have a fence around the entire yard, but several years ago we had to take the fence down because we were having the pine trees cut.  It’s not really been a problem until now.  We live in a rural, very small neighborhood, and our dogs stayed home…until now!  So, Charlie must stay tied.  And it’s sad. I am hoping beyond hope that my boys will get the fence back up when they are here over the holidays.  I’ve asked Bo, but haven’t sprung the idea on Will.  He’s a good scout, and he loves his mother-in-law.  And he loves Charlie.  I think we’re good!

I had hoped to write about the other activities on my list, but time has gotten away from me once again!  Tomorrow is Family Day, and we will be at my sister Bettye’s home.  I cannot wait! Good food, good company, and amazing Christmas decor!!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas Time’s a Comin’!

  1. Aww poor Ole Chuck! I hope the fence gets put up soon! For you and mr puppy as well!Have fun with family night! Sounds like a blast!

  2. AuntGen says:

    You have been a very busy girl this last couple weeks!  I hate that Charlie has to stay tied.  And that he won’t, um… stay tied. I remember all too well that particular frustration.   I’m looking forward to tomorrow and spending the day with you and the rest of the local fam at B’s. I can’t wait to see her Christmas tree and all her decor!  See you in the morning!

  3. we’ve had a HARD last few months with our dogs- having to put 2 down. BUt I understand yoru frustration. We had one we had to keep chained. It broke my heart. Had to be kept chained the whole time we had him, til he passed away of old age. We swore then we would never have another one we had to keep chained. We live on a small road back here int eh woods and all these dog know each other. Its funny to watch them sometimes. My neighbors dogs on each side almost feel like mine, and probably vice versa.

  4. We had a collie once that kept swimming the river to hang out at the neighbor’s house.  This neighbor also loved to call.  The collie hated riding in a vehicle, too, so getting him home was an ordeal involving hot dog bribes.  He was hit by a car. I still miss him.  

  5. Oh, my!  Hope you guys get things worked out with Charlie!  And I hope you had a nice Family Day!

  6. grace_to_be says:

    i’ve been on your site twice this wk to comment {loved your fun filled thanksgving post} but both times my  computer bombed.. :/ you have my total empathies w/  charlie~ every dog we’ve owned has been a runner, forcing us eventually to tie them up. and they hate it and just want free!! especially if they’re used to being free. hope you find a solution before too long.just when i start thinking now is a good time for another dog i read stories like this and i’m reminded why i’m not!! ;))

  7. Lol our dog Max was not our dog when we moved here, he belonged down the road a piece but he took a liking to us and stayed here all the time. The neighbors never really tried to get him. When he became sick I called their number that was on his tag and told them he was sick but they never responded. Needless to say I took him to the vet. $350.00 later he was my dog lol, the neighbors moved off and left him. We have since had him neutered, now he goes and does his business and right back home lol. Charlie is so pretty! He looks like the dog in the hallmark Christmas show named Christmas, I just watched it last night lol. Hope you had fun at your sisters house? Merry Christmas

  8. VallejoGirl says:

    Loved seeing the beautiful pictures of your family and especially that new little granddaughter of yours!  What a beauty!  I know you wish she lived closer.  We had a dog who kept wondering away.  She loved to hang out at the nearby elementary school.  We think someone took her home as one day she hopped the fence and we didn’t ever see her again.  I still miss her but she loved little kids so much it made me happy to think she made a family with children happy too!  Bye Bye Shadow!!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @VallejoGirl – @Mymanyblessings – @grace_to_be – @piecedtreasures – @feedwaterclean – @victoriantomboy – Charlie has evidently given up on love. He has decided to stay home, and hasn’t left in about 3 weeks!  The fence didn’t get put up yet, due to a virus sweeping through the family during the holidays, but I still have hopes that it will soon!  Thanks for all y’alls kind words – he is a really good dog, and we love him!

Leave a Reply

