I am 7 and a half weeks shy of my 53rd birthday, and I’ve developed a new obsession:  Murder, She Wrote!  When this great show came around the first time (1984), I guess it must have been on during the same time as another of my favorite shows.  Or perhaps it was during our “no TV” years, which is actually the case even now.  (I found Murder, She Wrote on Netflix.)  At any rate, I’m not sure I’d ever seen more than a couple of episodes until recently. 

Did you know that Murder, She Wrote was on for 12 seasons?  I have been watching for a couple of months, and I am now on, um, Season 10!!  Angela Lansbury is absolutely delightful, and the mysteries are, for the most part, MYSTERIOUS!  Another thing I love about this series, I get to see so many stars from many years ago.  Of course, some of my favorite people end up being the killer, but as I tell Arulai – it’s only TV! 

My favorite recurring character (aside from Angela Lansbury, AKA Jessica Fletcher) is Dr. Seth Hazlitt, played by William Windom.  He is a crotchety, older, home-town doctor, and I love to hear him say, “Aiyah!”  And then there’s Sheriff Metzger (Ron Masak), who is a pretty smart cookie himself, but also smart enough to ask Jessica’s advice on the murder case.  I have simply enjoyed every episode so much, and can’t wait to watch the next one tomorrow.

Bill has gone off to North Dakota again.  I’ll admit that I just don’t like these out of town trips, but he does really enjoy them.  At least Dannye is home with me tonight.  Bill probably won’t be home until Sunday, which just stinks because Dan and I are singing the special in the morning service.  I always feel so much more confident when Bill is there, either watching us or singing with us.  I miss the days of our whole family singing together – we had one for each part of harmony with a floater! Dannye is absolutely high soprano, Pamela a perfect alto, Bo a great tenor/baritone, and Bill takes the bass part.  I can do soprano or alto, so Dan and I switch off with a high tenor if the song calls for it.  We’re not professional by any means, but we love to sing and have a good time together!  We all got to sing together this Christmas – along with Emily and Will, both of whom have AMAZING voices!! It is a joy to sing with my kids!!

I’m going to close this mish-mash of a post with a couple of pics of our little Chloe Grace.  She is such a little doll! 

This is Pamela at 3 months, and Chloe at 4 months.  It isn’t as obvious in this pic as in person, but they really do look so much alike!

Seriously, couldn’t you just eat her up???

I find myself longing to see her, hold her, make sure she knows who Nonnie is.  I told my sister that just when I think I can’t bear it any longer, God’s grace comes flooding in, giving me strength!  I sure miss my Tater and her precious little family.  Chloe was dedicated while Dannye Reigh was up visiting, and I will have a few pics soon of the precious event.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. I love “Murder She Wrote” too, but I haven’t seen one in a long time!  Wow, would I love to hear you all sing!  Hope that Bill has a safe trip and that your weekend flies by till he gets home!

  2. AuntGen says:

    I love MSW, and I also love Seth, but I missed Tom Bosley as Amos when he left the show.  I know how much you hate nights without your lovey, but I love how you know his passion for these little adventures and how you give him freedom to indulge that wanderlust. Yes, it’s his job, but if you raised sand every time he made one of these runs or if he thought you wanted him to give it up, he would do something else.  Love in action.

  3. grace_to_be says:

    oh, i love murder she wrote too!! i actually own the first four seasons. those old kind of shows are my favorite. they just don’t make em like they used to. and i love a good clean mystery…i like to see if my detective skills are any good and if i can guess the killer. agatha christie’s miss marple are some of my other favs. i think they’re on netflix too. chloe is so beautiful. she DOES look like her mama! i know how homesick you must be for them. so tough for grandma to be away from the grandbabies! :(hoping the time is passing quickly while bill is gone! love and hugs.

  4. redladybug18 says:

    aw!  Chloe is so cute in all her cute outfits!  

  5. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – I can’t say the weekend has flown, but Dannye Reigh and I did some shopping therapy!! @AuntGen – I try not to whine too much, so he doesn’t get to feeling that I’m miserable – which I am when he’s gone…. But better he not see too much of that! @grace_to_be – It is tough on grandmas, and on our kids, too – as you know!! Like you’ve heard me say before, I’d rather they be away and in God’s will, than next door out of His will!!  I’ve seen Mrs. Marple, and am thinking I might begin that when I finish MSW. Love and hugs right back atcha!@redladybug18 – Indeed, she definitely has a wardrobe. Of course, that usually lasts only until they outgrow all the baby shower gifts!

  6. OH MY WORD!! Those pics are A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E!!!!! It so funny seeing your pic of Chloe and Pam like that! Because just yesterday I sent Lexi a photo of Jake to compare with Jolene: they are IDENTICAL!!!

Leave a Reply

