Full Days

My days have been quite full lately, and I’ve had such a good time!  Arulai loves coming to Nonnie’s house, so it isn’t unusual for her to have a couple of “sleepovers” a week here.  I love every minute of it, and Dannye is in heaven when she’s here.  A.J. is the sweetest, smartest thing, and keeps us grinning most of her visit.  Usually, the Littles join her for a day/night visit, too.  I’m so grateful that they love being at Nonnie and Papa’s!

This week, I have my Michigan grandbaby here, along with her Mommy!  Pamela and Chloe Grace got in Wednesday night, so we are delighted to enjoy their company for 2 weeks!  Chloe Grace has had a few setbacks already in her little life, including some Reflux issues.  I don’t know much about the problem, but I do know that she was spitting up so much of her milk that she was not even showing on the Weight Charts, percentile-wise.  She made it up to the 4th percentile, and then they put her on a reflux medication.  She is now in the 11th percentile, and hopefully will continue to blossom!  One thing I know – she melts this Nonnie’s heart!  She talks to me, smiles at me, even chuckles occasionally!  Oh, what a little dolly she is! 

 

Selah isn’t real sure about this little interloper.  She likes her, as long as Chloe doesn’t take Nonnie’s attention away from HER!!  She just thinks I should hold BOTH of them if I’m holding Chloe.  Of course, I’m happy to oblige!! 

Bill is on the road again.  This time he is in Nebraska, all the way to the western edge.  He had to drive through some pretty rough conditions yesterday, but the driving has been much better today.  He probably won’t be home until Sunday, which is vexing, but I’m hoping he will have a better trip home than he did going up.  He told me today that he saw scenery that simply brought tears to his eyes, it was so beautiful.  My sweet hubby loves God’s creation!

I’ve been thinking a lot about Bill’s travels, how much I talk about it when he’s gone.  This lifestyle is very normal for many folks, whether their husband is a truck driver or a businessman who has to be out of town often.  But it’s such a NEW thing for me.  Bill and I rarely spend time apart, and when we have in the past, we always say we’ll never do it again!  Our almost 32 year marriage has been mostly filled with self-employment, and then the 15 years of a very flexible job at his last job.  So this new life is a little vexing to me, although I know Bill loves the travel. These last two trips were sandwiched around me being gone to the beach with the grandkids for 3 days while Bill stayed home!  I miss my hubby!! 

*******************************************************************************

The girls just got back from an outing, and I got to spend a little time playing with Chloe Grace.  I was a little nervous that she would not want her Nonnie at all this visit – she is a MOMMY’S GIRL!! So much like her Mommy in that way!  But she has been so sweet and loving toward me!  She sat with me, cooing and laughing.  I rocked her to sleep and just held her for awhile.  She is so precious! 

We are staying home most of the day tomorrow, then going to my sis-in-law’s birthday party.  It will be wonderful to visit with some of my in-laws and will also give Pamela an opportunity to see them.  I doubt very much that Pawpaw and Memaw will be there, so we will go see them another day.  The days are full right now, and I’m loving it.  I am hoping to have ALL the grandkids here together next week, at least one “sleepover.”  There’s just nothing better!!

I’d better get off.  I pray your weekend is grand, and that my hubby gets home safely and SOON!! pleased

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Full Days

  1. my grandson joey is 19 months now and no longer nursing at all so i’ve been working on his mama to let us keep him overnight. i too would have trouble with jeff being away. he’s been laid off since november and is going back on monday and i’m already feeling sad about missing him 😦  sounds like you do have full days and i know you will enjoy every moment of it!–karen

  2. pettybunch says:

    @lifeontheWink – We had that same scenerio, too.  Bill was out of work 7 months last year, and I sure miss him, even going to work for the DAY!!  I’m grateful Bill has this job, a good Christian boss, so I’m truly not complaining about the job.  I simply love being with my hubby!   I’m blessed your hubby has a job now. Our men sure don’t like being out of work!!

  3. AuntGen says:

    I love your Nonnie heart.  There’s just something big and comforting and safe about the way you love your grandbabies.  If no one else in the world showed them what God’s love looks like, these little ones would see it in their Nonnie.

  4. This August will be 33 for us.  We have had husband traveling for the last several years because it was the only way to get work in the construction industry.  Now, I am working evenings, but he is working around home.  I hate being gone in the evenings, especially suppertime.  Sometimes you just have to do what you have to do to hold things together.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @uglygreensofa – So true!  I’m hoping that if traveling is a permanent part of our future, maybe we can figure out how I can go along!!

  6. redladybug18 says:

    that baby reflux is no fun at all.  I babysat a baby like that and he always seemed to totally miss the blanket or burp rag and always manage to get it all over me. I’m glad Chloe is doing betterSounds like you have quite the busy fun life and I’m sure the grand kids are loving it!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @redladybug18 – Chloe definitely has an affinity for missing the bib and burp cloth and hitting her pretty outfit or her Mother’s!!

  8. VallejoGirl says:

    I love how you post beautiful pics of your grandies!  They are getting so big and are soooo cute!!  Boy that reflux is a terrible thing for the little ones.  My neighbor had to quit breast feeding and put her baby on some super expensive formula because her baby screamed from morning til night.  I felt so sorry for both of them!!  Mama was so frazzled.  Do you live near a lake?  It just looks like your granddaughter is playing in sand.  I know that’s a sandy area though.  My aunt and uncle used to live in April Sound.  I love that area out there.  I never minded my husband traveling and at times really loved time to myself but since he’s been retired I think I would miss him now.  Crazy how every stage in life is different.

  9. pettybunch says:

    @VallejoGirl – We live just a little west and north of April Sound! It really is beautiful here – my hubby loves his piney woods!  The pic with the sand is from the Gulf of Mexico at Surfside Beach, which is near Freeport. It’s just about a 2 hour drive from our house, so worth the drive occasionally!

  10. My oldest Jake, when he was a baby, had reflux so bad, he lost down to 4 lbs! After many visits to different doctors to find the problem, we took him to our old family doctor who told me I needed to put cereal in his bottle and cut the nipple. We did and it stopped. Now, whats weird is after that, he never had liquid again til he was drinking from a sippy cup! The spoon could stand up in the bottle! We had to watch his bowels, but he made it.! I reckon Jakes reflux muscle just needed more time to get stronger. Its a scary time when they aint receiving nourishment.Hope she is doing better.

  11. pettybunch says:

    @victoriantomboy – Pamela’s doctor has her doing the same thing – putting rice cereal into the formula.  She is doing better!  We are so grateful!!

  12. @pettybunch – thats wonderful!! We changed Jakes milk SO MANY TIMES! We were about to put him on goats milk. Thank God for old country doctors!!

Leave a Reply

