Blessings…

Bill is gone again, back to North Dakota.  He’s actually on his way back, and I am more than ready for him to be home.  Life has a way of reminding us of how tenuous it really is.  The death last week of a beloved pastor who is the same age as my husband, who leaves a wife, four children, and who missed the birth of his first grandchild by 2 days.

And then today, a photo session with a precious husband and wife who are awaiting his own heavenly homegoing, probably before the end of this year.  This year will mark their thirty-third wedding anniversary.  Their love for each other is so sweet, so deep.  They are accepting what God has put in their path, yet there were tears amidst the smiles for the camera.  He was so caring of his sweet wife, she was so proud of him.  They had just been to the doctor Wednesday, and found that despite 3 chemo treatments per week, the cancer in his body had doubled and spread even more.  And yet, here they were, smiling – truly smiling – for the camera and for each other.  Dannye Reigh and I have never experienced something like this, yet I’m thinking neither of us would have missed the opportunity to meet them, spend this couple of hours with them.  I pray God’s strength and comfort for both of them as the short amount of time they have together progresses.  I pray that I will not simply be touched by this meeting, but would be forever CHANGED having met them.

And so, I wish my Beloved was home now.  I wish I’d never taken a moment of our time together for granted.  I hope I seize every opportunity to love him, to tell him I love him, and to revel in hearing him tell me how much he loves me.  Our Lord has been so very good to us.  Would I, like this couple today, still believe this during a devastating trial?  I pray I would, and I know the only way is to keep “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith…”  And I know, as some devastating trials have already ripped through my life, that my Lord will be there, with His strength and comfort, just as I told this precious little wife today.

God bless your day – in His own unique way, He sure blessed mine!

“Blessings”

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
And all the while, You hear each spoken need Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things
‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise
We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love
As if every promise from Your word is not enough
And all the while, You hear each desperate plea And long that we’d have faith to believe
‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise
When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not, This is not our home. It’s not our home.
‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if my greatest disappointments or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
What if trials of this life The rain, the storms, the hardest nights Are your mercies in disguise
About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blessings…

  1. This is a touching story.  Daniel and I are heading for forty years this summer, and if you had told that young couple back then that at forty years, we would still feel like we hadn’t been married very long — or that 40 years still wouldn’t be “enough” we would have probably laughed — 40 years OLD was almost incomprehensible, much less 40 years MARRIED.  I mean, our PARENTS hadn’t even been married that long.  They were only in their 40’s themselves!  Oh, me!  Time just has a way of getting away from us.  I say all of that to say this — I cannot even imagine what this couple must be feeling, thinking, and suffering.  It is in times like this that I HAVE to believe that “He giveth more grace, when the burdens grow greater, He sendeth more strength when the labors increase.  To added affliction, He addeth His mercy.  To multiplied trials, His multiplied peace.”  Do you remember that old song?  The chorus goes, “His love has no limits, His grace has no measure.  His power has no boundaries known unto man.  For out of His infinite riches in Jesus, He giveth — and giveth — and giveth again.”  What a comfort to have this kind of example before us — to see that God really does give grace for the moment — that He will walk those days with us when that time comes.  But oh!  How it must hurt, and my heart goes out to them.

  2. pettybunch says:

    I love that hymn so much! And I know exactly what you mean about time flying in our marriage – 32 years sure doesn’t seem like enough for Bill and I. God does give more grace, and I saw such a picture of that in this couple today!

  3. a beautiful post!! Your heart is so fitly spoken. I strive to DAILY never take my husband for granted. Its my one goal in life, besides many others of course, bu this one is the most important. He has my heart fully and wholly. Thank you so much for sharing this.

  4. grace_to_be says:

    i love that song~ i’m constantly ashamed of myself for how quickly i forget and i take HIs blessings for granted. as our pastor preached yesterday, God owes us nothing.. it is ALL His grace! such a sweet and tender post. a good read for me to start my monday with. :))

  5. pettybunch says:

    @grace_to_be – I actually thought of you when I posted the song, as you may have been the one who introduced it to me. The Lord used these lyrics to comfort me during the loss of Mama and Daddy. Have a GREAT week! 

  6. Oh thank you for posting this! Thank you! Lord, make me grateful. Keep my humble. Help me to appreciate those you’ve given me.

  7. Wow. Such a thought provoking and moving story. I too would hope that I could be like that.

Leave a Reply

