Rainy Day Meanderings

And the rains came.  The scene outside my office window could be a little scary, but I feel very safe in the house my hubby (et al) built for me.  We need the rain, so I’m enjoying the view. 

Our yard is shaping up slowly.  Nathanael has worked on it a couple of days, and Bill does what he can when he’s home.  I have been able to do a few things, but it seems to take everything out of me to do just a little bit!  I got some new azalea plants in the ground – took me two weeks to plant 6 plants, but I did it!!  Between Dannye and I, we got the other bushes cut back after their blooms faded.  Jeanne gave me a Dogwood tree for my birthday, and I’ve got the location for it picked out, but it’s waiting on some muscle to get it in the ground.

My patio is looking better, if you can just focus on the patio and not the surrounding area!  Sweet hubby the junk collector seems to be taking over more and more of the yard.  Plans are to move, haul, or sell the stuff that’s out in view of the house, but it sure seems like the “stuff” comes in faster than it goes out!  And sweet hubby doesn’t collect small things.  Nope, when he does something, he does it big!!  So I have at least 3 non-running vehicles in my yard, innumerable riding lawnmowers, as well as gizmos and gadgets whose purpose in this world only he knows!!  I can’t complain too much, though.  Bill is a fixer-upper, and so many things we’ve either sold or used ourselves came from Bill’s collecting tendencies!  And since people in our nation throw away almost perfectly good stuff, we’ve had things many folks in our “income-level” only dream of! 

Our house is the greatest example of this, and while it isn’t finished yet, it is still something I never thought I would have.  And over the years I’ve driven very decent vehicles, our kids have always had 3 or 4-wheelers to ride, we’ve always had a lawn tractor with which to maintain our yard, and the grandkids have a great wooden playground to play on – Arulai calls it “The Park.”  So no complaining when the stuff expands – eventually it will go away or move to a more visually acceptable area!

And speaking of sweet hubby, he’s gone again! Back to the Dakotas, only this time he must take his time on the drive since he just got back.  There’s all kinds of laws and regulations dealing with truck drivers that I can’t begin to understand.  He probably won’t be back until Monday night or Tuesday. I am not liking the distant traveling, but he does so enjoy driving to places he’s never seen. If the time and distance are close, he takes a different route each time.  And Bill isn’t necessarily looking for the big sights, although he would enjoy them immensely.  But just as much as these, maybe more, Bill thrills at seeing wind farms, old barns, junk yards, little towns, old courthouses, even icicles on a barbed wire fence with the sun glinting through them. 

So, off he goes!  For those who might be wondering, his back has been doing VERY well, and these trips have not bothered him so far.  Sometimes I wonder if he actually gets more rest on the road than at home – I don’t sleep very well myself, and have the feeling I keep him awake, too! 

The grandbabies are here, which definitely keeps me occupied.  Selah does love her Nonnie, and enjoys being in my arms or my lap more than just about any other place.  I’m loving the attention and the loving.  Titus misses his Papa, but this visit has been having the best time playing outside!  Dannye Reigh has been free enough to play with them some, too, which Arulai has just LOVED.  She and her Nee-Nee are great pals!  We’ve really had a blast, but they go home today.  We have a meeting with a bride and groom, and then a few goings on over the weekend. 

 

 

 

I looked back to see if I’ve told my Xanga friends the BEST news, but I don’t see where I did, so………

Chloe Grace is going to be a BIG SISTER!  The due date is November 9th, and we are all so very excited!  Pamela is doing well, although morning sickness is getting her pretty bad.  She and Chloe Grace are adorable, as you can see!  Naturally, we are shooting a wedding at the end of October and one at the end of November, so our window of time to meet our new grandbaby is restricted.  I told Dan that if this baby comes early like Chloe Grace did, she and her daddy will be shooting a wedding without my aid!!  I’ll not miss my Baby Girl’s labor and delivery this time (Lord willing!).

I guess I’d better get off now.  I’m sure there are plenty of things for me to be doing, whether I want to or not!  Before I know it, it will be time to go to our meeting.  I guess I’d better be ready for it!!

God bless your day!! 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rainy Day Meanderings

  1. congratulations! that is wonderful news! i love the flower pics since nothing is blooming here yet, its 46 degrees for a high today!–karen

  2. inanorchard says:

    Congratulations on a new grandbaby!! Your flowers are just beautiful!  I was laughing and identifying with your husband’s “junk collecting”.  My husband loves finding great things on Craigslist and then they join all the other great deals we have sitting around our property :)I just love the picture of the icy tree and fence!

  3. Great photos of your flowers. 

  4. Oh this post was so sweet, all the grands, & congrats on the upcoming birth what wonderful time !

Leave a Reply

