32 Years and Counting!

This day is the anniversary of the very best day of my life – the day that Bill Petty made me his wife!  Bill is the best man I know, and I am humbled and even a bit surprised that he chose me to be his wife!  Our wedding wasn’t very big, but I was so excited to even be having a wedding!  We had only know each other 9 months when we got married, but we knew God had brought us together.  Daddy was working out of town, and came home Saturday morning just in time for the wedding.  Mama made her own dress, and she was beautiful!  We had typical wedding day trauma, though.  Jeanne was my Matron of Honor, and her baby boy got very sick the night before.  They ended up taking Michael to the ER Saturday morning, and weren’t able to make it back in time to get ready for the wedding! My wonderful sister-in-law, Greta, let us talk her into wearing Jeanne’s dress, and acting as my Matron of Honor.  The rains poured, but the sun peeked out just as Bill and I came out of the sanctuary.  It was just such a sweet feeling of approval from our Heavenly Father! And Bill is my husband…STILL!  I continue to be amazed that he comes home from work to me everyday!

 

 

 

 

Bill has the most tender heart of any man I know.  He weeps for the hurts of others, as well as cries tears of joy at their good fortune.  Now this is not to say that Bill is easy – he is very discerning, and I know that one of the reasons the Lord put us together because I tend to be terribly gullible!

Bill shows me every day a beautiful picture of how Christ loves his church.  Bill has been laying his life down for me and for our children for 32 years.  He always puts our needs, and most of our wants, before his own. He doesn’t even seem to think of himself, but quickly sees the needs of others, and sets out to do what he can to fill them.

My husband’s great love for his family is being shown even today.  When Bill left his previous job, they sold him his work truck – a truck he had driven since it was new, a 2008 F250 that can pull anything, and has done so!!  Bill loved his truck, or perhaps I should say he appreciated it.  It was a part of his daily life for 4+ years, and did everything he needed it to do.  He bought it from the company thinking he would use it for hot-shot work.  He now works for a hot shot company, and drives their truck rather than his.  He has seen all the paperwork and regulations necessary for this work, as well as the costs of fuel and upkeep of the vehicles.  It can be overwhelming! 

So my sweet hubby came to a very difficult decision, and he sold his truck yesterday.  I know him, and am pretty sure a tear came into his eyes when the buyer drove it away. He becomes so attached to his mechanical things – there’s just something about the roar of an engine that gets my sweet hubby’s blood pumping, and this truck was a V10!  Powerful stuff!!

There was another issue involved that nudged him toward selling it, and that is the fact that our Dannye Reigh doesn’t have a vehicle of her own.  Her transmission went out in her truck last year, and we simply haven’t been able to repair or replace it. 

So today, Bill and Dannye Reigh are out looking at cars.  He has had her looking at ads, and today they are checking some of them out.  I know Dannye Reigh will be so grateful when they find the right car!  And I know Bill’s heart will be full to see his “Sugar Bear” driving her own car!

I don’t think we will be doing any anniversary celebrating tonight, but I’m hoping for a bit of a getaway in the next couple of weeks!  I told Bill that I don’t need anything fancy. I’m just hoping for someplace where he doesn’t know anyone, and perhaps the owner/manager doesn’t even speak English!  My hubby never meets a stranger, and I’d just really love having him all to myself!

God bless your day! He sure has blessed mine!!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 32 Years and Counting!

  1. What a sweet blog, and a wonderful story of your wedding day!  Happy Anniversary to you and Bill!

  2. really enjoyed this post! happy anniversary!–karen

  3. AuntGen says:

    Bill is one in a gazillion and as I always say, our family is blessed to have him. Not many husbands would give up their lives for their mama and daddy-in-law like he did when the time came. I’m also trying to think of how to say how glad I am that you have him. He loves you so sweetly and so deeply… it’s amazing to watch.   

  4. VallejoGirl says:

    Awww…Happy Anniversary!  When things are right they are RIGHT!  And you two are right for each other!  I am the same way about vehicles.  I name them and they become part of the family.  lol  Thank you for the sweet comments to me.  I sure will miss my little …brat… !!  

  5. loaine says:

    Happy Anniversary!We’ll be married 31 years in July.I can understand the whole truck thing.My husband is a”motorhead”too.(and he passed it on to our son 🙂

  6. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – He is pretty great, isn’t he?? @piecedtreasures – @loaine – @VallejoGirl – @lifeontheWink – Thank y’all! I’m fully blessed!!!!!

  7. grace_to_be says:

    oh, happy happy anniversary! you were/ are a beautiful bride, nina! i love your love for bill. he sounds like an amazing guy – and i’m pretty sure if he wrote a blog about you it would be filled with just as much love and sweetness. so neat to see couples still so into each other after years of marriage.. to even see their marriage stronger than it’s ever been. what a testimony and example and one that’s so needed. thank you!! i hope you guys had a  wonderful day just celebrating each other. i smiled when you said you only knew each other 9 months before getting married – shayne and i too! :)) xo.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @grace_to_be – Thank you, sweet Amber! Bill and I are going to have to celebrate another day, because he took Dan car shopping.  And they found one!! I’m so happy for her! I stayed home with the grandkids, and am hoping for a date night with Bill later! Love you, girl!!

  9. viviyun says:

    Congratulations . Thank you for sharing and inspiring the world on enduring commitment, love, companionship, and lifelong partnership.

  10. Foodhog says:

    Wow, this brought tears to my eyes. I am getting married in August and this was just so insperatinal. Happy 32 years, you guys look so happy and are such a cute looking couple!

  11. This is so precious.  There is something so comfortable about a love that has weathered the storms of life and is still our first choice, our only choice and the BEST choice.  May God continue to pour out his blessings on you and your sweet husband, and I hope you get to celebrate another 32 years.

Leave a Reply

