My Dannye Reigh

Today is a special day in history – the day my Dannye Reigh was born, June 10, 1984.  She was a bit of a surprise, coming only 13 months after her big brother, but was a joyful addition to our household! I wish I knew where her baby book was; I’d show you her newborn photo.  She was so tiny, and came into this world looking so much like her Memaw, Bill’s mom.  She had a bit of a rough start, due to the fact that she was allergic to milk products, and we didn’t find out until she was 10 months old.  She had all manner of pulmonary issues because of the allergy, and didn’t grow much until after we discovered the problem.  She was a good baby, though, and loved her spot in the family.

Dannye Reigh is in the plaid dress – oh, such a dolly!

Dannye put together this tea party for Pamela’s 10th birthday.

She even performed the song, “Sisters, Sisters…” That’s her in the yellow V-yoked dress. 

I’ve always said that Dannye was much more like our first born than her older brother – Nathanael was very laid back, sweet-tempered, never bossy, and simply didn’t care what decisions were made, as long as everyone was happy.  DanReigh, on the other hand, was very bossy, and while pretty sweet-tempered, she was very decisive and logical.  Dan’s motto is “Just Do It!”  She’s actually WONDERFUL to have around, because if everyone is standing around like the vultures on “Jungle Book” asking, “What do you wanna do?” “I don’t know…What do YOU wanna do?” Dannye Reigh will go ahead and make a decision! I love that about her!

Dannye Reigh also came forth from the womb loving beauty.  She has always loved being a girl, loved fashion, especially shoes!  The first time I took her into a shoe store (at least when she was old enough to know where we were) she stopped right in the doorway, gasped, then shouted, “SHOOOOOOES!!!!!”  Dannye is very beautiful, and enjoys making others beautiful.  I think that’s why she’s a good photographer!

Dannye is such an amazing young woman.  She loves her family, her friends, and her Lord.  She isn’t afraid of hard work, and while she is still fairly shy, she has learned to get a grip and do what needs to be done. 

 

Dannye Reigh loves children, and is just wonderful with them.  She’s pretty no-nonsense, but kids just love her.  When my grandbabies come over, I have the easy part – love and spoil ’em!  Dan does nearly ALL the hard stuff – bathing, clothing, feeding, even disciplining them (since this Nonnie has a REAL hard time with that part!) They respect Dan, but they look for her immediately when they walk in the door. 

There is so much more to this complex daughter of mine, but I don’t think there’s room or time to say everything in my heart, even if I could find the words!  The Lord poured out His blessings 29 years ago today, and I am SO grateful!

Happy Birthday, Dannye Reigh! I hope this is the best one so far!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Dannye Reigh

  1. Happy Birthday to Dannye Reigh!  She sure is a beauty, and it sounds like she is a wonderful young woman!  She must be, since she is your daughter!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – You’re so sweet! I always tell people that I have great kids in spite of me, not because of me!

  3. Happy Birthday Dannye! I hope your day was Wonderful! The pictures are so sweet.

  4. AuntGen says:

    Dannye Reigh is very much like YOU. She got her great love for beauty and style/fashion (and SHOES) from her mama and (her Mamaw).  She got her great love and devotion for the Lord Jesus from you.  She also got her love for the little ones from you. She saw you living out these character qualities as whe was growing up and they became a part of who she is.  There’s no doubt that she’s an individual, even though she’s teased a lot that she’s her father’s clone, but there’s a whole lot of you in your sweet Dannye Reigh, and I’d say it’s a lot of the best stuff.  She is indeed as wonderful as you portray her here and more and we love her and don’t know what we’d do without her!

  5. It is interesting that we have children about the same age. Our oldest son (third child) was born in 1982.  Second son in 1985 and youngest daughter in 1990.  Of course, I was considered an ‘Elderly Mama” by that time!  I love to hear the stories about your children, and see the pictures from over the years.  So, incredibly sweet.  And, having an adult daughter who lives at home, I know how wonderful that is, as well.  I know that some parents just can’t wait for their kids to leave and get out on their own, but isn’t it nice to have adult children, living at home who are an asset and not a drain on you?  I don’t know all the details of Dannye Reigh, but I would really miss our daughter if she should decide to get her own place.  Thanks for this glimpse into Dannye Reigh’s life.  Happy Birthday to her!

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU Dannye Reigh…You are Looking Sooo Beautiful…Hebrew Keyboard CanadaWORK AGENCY HAMILTONEavestroughing Brampton

  7. VallejoGirl says:

    Wow!!  I loved this!  Happy Belated Birthday, DR!  She is such a beautiful girl, Mom.  Guess what?  June 10th is MY youngest daughter’s bday too!  Unfortunately this year we weren’t together as she has moved to PA. (see those tears running down my chin??)  She was born in 1986.  I’m so glad we have that in common!!

Leave a Reply

