All Grown Up and Saving China…

If you’ve never seen the Disney movie “Mulan,” you don’t know what you’ve missed!  I’d probably not have let my kids watch it when they were little – too much Hindu “ancestors” stuff to have to explain to a little one for me (Mulan’s Mom: I should have prayed to the ancestors for luck. Grandmother: How lucky can they be? They’re dead!)- but since it came out in 1998 when my kids weren’t really kids, we’ve loved watching it!  We quote it constantly, especially Mushu, voiced by Eddie Murphy:

“You know, we have to work on your people skills.”

“Man, you are one lucky bug.”

And Mulan’s Grandmother: 

“Who spit in her bean curd?”

“Great. She brings home a sword. If you ask me, she should’ve brought home a man.” 

 

Now that my Dannye Reigh is actually going on a trip to China, I feel a bit like Mushu –  “My little baby’s all grown up and… [sniffle] … and savin’ China. You have a tissue?”

We have a dear friend who ministers in China as a foster mom to about 22 children with various disabilities (see her wonderful website here) and Dannye Reigh has been invited to go for a visit!  She will be helping Melodie with the children, and Mel has also promised a “full China experience”!  It will be a lot of work, but it is work that Dannye loves.  Mel has also told her she can take ALL the pictures she wants!!

If you know Dannye Reigh, you know full well that this is TOTALLY out of her comfort zone – not the working with children part, which is her JOY, but the travelling-outside-the-USA-into-a-foreign-language-speaking-country part! But a few things have pushed her off the fence in this decision: 1) Her knowledge that our Lord has been in this decision from the beginning, opening doors, providing finances, giving peace; 2) Her friendship with and deep confidence in Melodie; 3) the excitement of doing something so outside her little box, in spite of herself!

I’m so excited for Dannye Reigh.  She is such an amazing person, and this is an experience of a lifetime.  Many days it’s difficult to be a 29 year old woman and still single, but this opportunity is perfect for my single, independent gal!  It is definitely stretching her, but she is up for the task!  She will love taking care of those children, and will love the broadening of her horizons (perhaps more in hindsight than in foresight, but…) 

This momma is also a little trepidatious at the thought of her going, and being gone!  We are a bit of a team, Bill, Dannye Reigh, and me.  We have learned to work and play well with each other, and we actually LIKE being together.  Dannye also does so much around here that I know, once she’s gone a few days, I will wonder if I remember how to do them!!  I mean, she was gone to Michigan for about 3 weeks, and I even rearranged the furniture while she was gone; but 2+ months is an even longer time!

Bo and Emily are making plans to help prevent loneliness, especially if Bill gets called out of town while Dan is gone.  They are planning sleepovers, play dates, and all kinds of things to keep me busy!  They are sweet that way!!

The thing I know most, though, is that this experience – for Dannye, as well as for us staying behind – is a GOOD thing!  We will all grow, probably get out of some ruts, and find out that we can do lots of things we didn’t think we could!!  I can’t wait to see what the Father has in store for us!

God has been so faithful to me and my family as we traverse our earthly pilgrimage.  I am so grateful He has kept my children close to Him and to us.  I’m grateful, too, that I don’t have to fear for Dannye’s health or life, as her Heavenly Father cherishes it even more than I do!  He knows her needs so much better than I do, as well!

I will ask that y’all pray with us for everything to be accomplished in a timely manner.  She is due to leave in the next 2 weeks, and we have flights to book, luggage to pack, necessities to buy, and perhaps a couple of immunizations to get (none are necessary, but tetanus and Hepatitis are suggested).  Dannye is a very organized person normally, but this is all new to her.  Her friend, Melodie, is a seasoned traveler, as well as very helpful with all the rules and regulations, but she is traveling here in Texas to visit friends and probably touch base with her supporters.  She is also experiencing some health issues, so please pray for answers and healing there, as well!

As a side note, I still don’t know if Xanga is closing or staying open with a fee, but either way, I will probably have to move on.  I will be moving to WordPress, and my blog address there is https://pettybunch.wordpress.com/.  I haven’t done anything with it yet, and will let you all know when it’s a done deal.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 34 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SIX grandchildren: three precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Grown Up and Saving China…

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    May the Lord go before and behind Dannye, may He bless and protect her and may He meet the desires of her heart soon!In Jesus’ name. amen

  2. Wow, I will certainly be praying for Dannye!   Keep us updated.  And I will be praying for you – I KNOW how hard it is to send them off!!

  3. pettybunch says:

    Reblogged this on pettybunch and commented:

    This post if from Dannye Reigh’s 2013 trip to China. She is returning to China in two and a half weeks, for the same purpose, but for a shorter time! God has already begun to supply her needs there a “GoFundMe” site: http://www.gofundme.com/kks5mo
    Please be in prayer for our girl! Her last trip had some very painful aspects to it, but Dannye is excited to go back to see the children and her dear friend, Melodie!
    Thank you for your prayers!!

Leave a Reply

