Busy, Busy, Busy!

The view from one of their 17 - 21st floor apartment balconies.

The view from one of their 17 – 21st floor apartment balconies.

It will probably take me awhile to figure this blog site out, but I’m going to push through today and see what we end up with!

As I’ve said, and if you are a FB connection, you know that my Dannye Reigh is in China for a few months.  She has gone to help our dear friend, Melodie, who has a foster home for 24 (right now) children of various ages, with various disabilities. Many of her children have Down Syndrome.

Most of these pics have been on FB, but some of you haven’t seen them, and I know you’ll love seeing Dannye’s babies in China!

mmexport1374548252754

This is what their building looks like from the street!

mmexport1374414047707

This is another view from their balcony.

Who’d have thought such beauty would be outside a 24 story apartment building??

mmexport1374414029405

Dannye Reigh with Gugu, one of their newer babies to join their family

Gugu got out of the hospital (pneumonia) just a day or two after Dannye arrived in China. He and Yanzi are about the same age, I think. They were in the hospital at the same time.

mmexport1374414055828

One of their apartments, which mostly houses the youngest children, although Ya Mei is visiting on this day!

The foster home is actually different apartments on three different floors.  They have paid workers to help, not only with the children, but also with the cooking and laundry.

One of their yummy lunches! And pretty, too!

One of their yummy lunches! And pretty, too!

mmexport1375067402404

Little Benjamin

This is Daniel, their happy boy!

This is Daniel, their happy boy!

From Dannye’s description, Benjamin is all boy, plus some! She and Melodie both love little boys, so I have a feeling he will get all the attention he needs, both in praise and correction!

mmexport1375452999896

Dannye Reigh and Yanzi, her little Lovey!

Little Yanzi (pronounced Yen-suh) has captured Dannye Reigh’s heart, more so than the others, probably because of the amount of care she requires, and the love she gives in return. Nearly every time Dan video calls me, she’s holding Yanzi!

mmexport1375473485547

Dannye Reigh says she has Angel Eyes!

Life here without Dannye has been amazingly busy! First and foremost, Nathanael and Emily have been SUPER busy with their business and other huge events (Texas Home School Convention!!); therefore, the babies have come to see Nonnie a bunch! I am loving all this time with them, as well as really feeling my age! I knew that Dannye carried the bulk of the physical work of caring for the children, but what I didn’t realize is that the 24 years’ difference in our ages would make such a difference in our ability to do said work!! But, oh, my goodness, these babies are so sweet!  Each one will often just stop what they are doing, lay their head on my lap or shoulder, and say so sweetly, “I love you, Nonnie!” Be still, my heart!!

Bill has also begun a new job.  No more hotshotting all over Houston and the nation! He was offered a job, one that was actually designed with him in mind, and I think he will really love it.   He WON’T love driving into Houston every day, but part of the design of the job is that he goes in a bit ahead of the traffic, and comes home ahead of the worst of the afternoon traffic.  I think it will be a really good fit for this stage of our lives.  I will love the medical insurance!  I find that I enjoy knowing when he’s getting home, I enjoy fixing dinner for us, and I know that the babies love having more Papa time!

The vexing thing about the new job (this is very tongue-in-cheek!) is that the company truck (with gas card!) they provided for my Ford-to-the-core husband is a Chevrolet! Titus is having a difficult time figuring this problem out, for sure!! 😉

I also need to update on my weight loss venture.  My kids are Advocare representatives, and I have seen what these products have done for them, and for several others, including my hubby. Advocare is a wellness/fitness company, and deal with more than just weight loss.  Bill benefits from their energy/focus product called Spark.  Many athletes benefit from their fitness products.

My first “24-Day Challenge” didn’t produce a loss of pounds, but I did lose 7+ inches in overall measurements!  Because the products help prevent muscle loss, the scale doesn’t change as fast as I’d like, but I’m counting on the success of others’ to come my way!  I began my second challenge yesterday, and really hoping for better results, since I’m not vacationing this time. I really have to work on the exercise aspect of my weight, though. I’m just not a very active person, aerobics-wise. Surely I can count running after these babies, though! 😉

Well, that’s all I can think of to report right now. If she comes to mind, please be in prayer for Dannye, and the ministry she is there to help, Journey of a Joyful Life.

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

