It was a good day!

This evening, I’ve been reflecting on my day. I have the grandkids for a couple of days, which is my joy. They came Tuesday, which meant they woke up here this morning. Which also means the day begins rather early, although for Titus, we got a late start – he didn’t wake me up until almost 7:30!

I am NOT a morning person. At least my nature is not normally to be excited to begin a day early, although for the past several years I CAN NOT sleep in like I used to. But I dream about sleeping in, still. It kinda goes back to my young married days when, on days I was home alone, I dreaded getting out of bed. I never have enjoyed my own company, unlike my Mama, who preferred her own company to most people’s that she knew!  And I always feared that if I got up, first the aloneness would begin, and although I had plenty to do around my house – PLENTY – I just knew I’d finish before the alone time ended, and then I’d be stuck again with my own company. So I slept a lot on those alone days. And things didn’t get done, and my home was gross, and my marriage was less than happy (although I am married to the most understanding, loving man on this earth) and I was horribly unhappy.

When babies came, I got better. As they got older and became even better company, I got even better. There were even tiny bits of time that I wanted a minute alone; but only a minute!! My housekeeping got better because I had someone to keep me company while doing it, then had 3 GREAT helpers! And I didn’t have to fear being alone, because we home educated; thus we were together most of the time for 20+ years!

Having children was so healing for my psyche. I even liked myself better during those years. I was able to do things alone sometimes, and enjoy it. I was pretty confident, as well.  It was good, those years of parenting!

After caring for Mama and Daddy, I found myself losing confidence, and as I’ve mentioned before, in a somewhat depressed state.  I sure wasn’t getting anything done!  So my kids (Bo and Em, specifically) began helping with some health issues, namely my weight and my sedentary lifestyle, while at the same time needing me to help out with their kids while they worked on their health and wellness business.

I’m saying all this to finally get around to saying that I think both these things – dealing with my health issues, and keeping my grandkids a couple of days each week – have worked in tandem to get me back on track! Today was a perfect example of the good that is happening in my life lately!  I have felt better both physically and mentally as the summer has worn on, and I tell Bo and Em all the time that I wish I didn’t sound so much like a commercial for their company (Advocare) because people begin to shy away from you when you do that!  But I do feel better, actually GOOD, and I do credit the regimen Emily has me on for most of it. 

As for the rest of why I feel good, getting up and going after these babies, not to mention that they simply give me a wonderful reason to exist, really does wonders for this Nonnie!

So today, I had a great day. The grands were a big part of that, and the products were another big part of it, and the choice to get up and DO STUFF was a big part of it. I’m just grateful for these kinds of days, and more grateful that they are coming more and more often! 

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It was a good day!

  1. Jeanne says:

    I’m so glad you have had such a good day. Your improving health and outlook on life are such an answer to prayer, and an encouragement to me. I also had a good day today, and look forward to a tomorrow of doing stuff and watching stuff get done.

  2. amber says:

    what a wonderful thing!!! when your health is not good it just effects every part of your life~ so glad you’re doing better and on the right track. if you don’t mind me asking.. what’s some more details of the program emily has you on?? i’d love to hear~ seeking some answers here for some health related/ lack of energy things!

    hugs.

    • pettybunch says:

      Amber, Bo and Emily are representatives for Advocare, a health and wellness company. There is a program called the 24-Day Challenge that Em had me do, along with a couple of added supplements and a dab of exercise. The exercise part is the most difficult for me because we have no equipment in our home and it is DOGGONE hot outside right now. But truly, I’ve dealt with depression and total lack of energy, accompanied by weight gain, of course, since before Mama and Daddy died. I didn’t know if anything would help, and my dr. told me I was very close to being put on antidepressants, which I didn’t want. So, mostly to help out with their business, I told Emily to try and “fix” my issues!! I am now feeling better than I have in YEARS, with enough energy to actually get up and do stuff, and the desire to do it, too. I wasn’t necessarily skeptical of the company, as I had seen different results in others – Em lost LOTS of weight over the years, and her physical appearance is AMAZING; Bo is building muscle he never though he would have; a dear friend of the kids’ lost lots of weight after 2 babies… However, none of the people I knew were my age, and I wondered if it would help me. But even though it’s a little slower than I wish (isn’t weight loss always?) it is working!
      Really, you ought to talk to Emily – FB message her. She’s super knowledgeable, and has helped me immensely.
      BTW, I’ve lost almost 10 pounds (no diet, just trying to be sensible) and about 8 inches over all at my last count. Icing on the cake of feeling better, I think! Give Emily a holler – she will be glad to fill you in, and you can see if it’s something you’d be interested in.

Leave a Reply

