I Need Lessons…

I’ve gotten on this “new” blog a couple of times since my last post, and I’m just not comfortable with it yet! I keep expecting the ease of Xanga, and it’s just not there.  That isn’t a “WAHHHHH”, just a “HMMMMM.”  I truly have things to say, but I want to change the look and feel of my blog with my mood, the seasons, whatever. Where are the themes??? 😛

Dannye Reigh comes home next week. I am so ready!  When she first left, I felt a bit like a kid going out on my own for the first time – Bill and I alone in our home: watching what I want on Netflix, or not watching anything at all; with Dan gone, there are no photo jobs, so my schedule is my own…

But as the days have gone on, and as Dan has gone through so many things 7000 miles out of my reach, it wasn’t long before I was missing my girl’s presence! I found myself wanting her advice on my outfits, her help with decorating ideas, her input when we have the kids over…and Family Day simply isn’t the same without her! So, yeah, I’m ready!! And she comes home one week from tomorrow (Tuesday). It will be SOOOOOO good to have her home!

Before Dan left for China, we had talked about having a big garage sale to get rid of enough stuff so she can move into our mobile home. The trailer was our home for 25 years, before Bill and I moved over to Mama and Daddy’s. When we moved over there, Bo and Em moved to Minnesota, so their little unfinished cabin was empty.  Dannye decided to do some work on the Cabin and move into it, and when we came back home she wanted us to move in with her rather than back into the trailer.  She was pretty tired of living alone, and the trailer had become storage and needed quite a bit of work. So the three of us have been happily sharing the Cabin for 2 years now.

Dan’s future plans, though, possibly include fostering children, so she wants a home of her own, yet desires to stay close to us.  So while she’s been gone, my little neighbor, Sheridan, and I have been clearing, cleaning, and organizing the trailer for a yard sale extraordinaire!!  There is SOOOOO much junk over there, you can’t even imagine! 25 years of our lives, plus stuff I couldn’t let go of from Mama and Daddy’s house has all been stuffed into that trailer! Dannye only brought the things she needed over to the Cabin when she moved in, and it’s amazing what you find you DON’T need after living without it for 3 years!  Plus, we seem to wear a sign on our heads that says, “Give me all your unwanted items!” so there is so much stuff that we’ve never even used!! Seriously, you can’t imagine!

I don’t know how I can make an ad that expresses that fact, but I hope we have hundreds of buyers out here – we have household items and furniture, vintage items, some interesting things that we don’t even know what they are… (In the words of Andy Griffith, “If I knew what it was, I’d have to charge you [more]!”) So the sale is going to be October 12th, 4 days after Dannye Reigh gets home.  I hope she will be enough over jetlag to be able to help – for sure she needs to go through things to make sure we’re not selling something she wants!! (Highly doubtful – Dannye did NOT get the Petty hoarder gene!)

I mentioned Sheridan…she is just about the most amazing child I have ever known! She’s about 13, and she has more work ethic than most adults I know! She also has a knack for planning, is decisive, and LOVES putting on garage sales! She’s a little bit of a thing – both her parents are small in comparison to our 6′ and over family! She has the most beautiful dark red hair, and I call her my little redheaded daughter. She has been an unbelievable help to me. I could never have pulled this garage sale off without her, especially with Dannye gone!

I’d better get off here – Sheridan gets home from school around 3:30, and I have lots to do in my OWN house before we work in the trailer. I hope I can either figure out the workings of WordPress, or be content with my bland-looking blog – I’d love to write more!!

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Need Lessons…

  1. Donna says:

    I know you will be so happy when Dannye gets home! I didn’t know all that about the trailer and the cabin – interesting! WordPress is definitely much more difficult to use than xanga was. It is a challenge to post pictures, for one thing. So, I don’t blog as much. But maybe I’ll get back into the swing of it soon!

  2. amber says:

    my mom just text me today saying how much her heart ached to see my face… so i know on both ends, being the daughter missing mom and a mom myself missing my kids when they’re gone the incredible homesickness we feel for those we love. so happy for you that she’ll be home next week. it sounds like some exciting days ahead for her, and you guys too, with her looking to foster. shayne and i have talked of that for years.. just what a precious thing to love on these kids who have had such tough lives, even if it’s for a short time.

    you andy griffith quote made me smile. he’s a favorite around here. :))

    and yes! it’s hard to learn a new blogging place. i miss xanga too. especially the sense of community since it seems alot of xangans don’t venture out 😉 kinda sad, cause you feel you have had friendships and shared so much with these people and suddenly they’re just gone and silent. i don’t like it. :))) i finally had a friend help me with my layout – i was so clueless. one thing i learned is that you can go on etsy and buy themes for your blog. some are expensive but there’s alot that around 25 bucks or so.. and then you can change lots of things w/ it like color and such. ~ i’ve learned all i know from asking friends who have wordpress sites and google.

    shayne just told me my dinner is ready. scrambled eggs. ;)) i’ve been editing pictures all day trying to get caught up…

    hugs to you friend. have a great rest of the week~ and hope hundreds come out for your garage sale!!!!!

    • pettybunch says:

      Andy Griffith is definitely a fav here, too. Nathanael could whistle the theme song when he was three years old! We can scarcely hold a conversation without quoting the show! When Andy Griffith passed away, my Pamela said she almost felt like she lost a grandfather!
      Thank you for the encouragement about this new space. I can’t wait for Emily to show me a thing or two!!

      • amber says:

        yes.. we all said the same when he died – we felt like it was a family member! 😦 they certainly don’t make tv shows like they used to. hope you’re enjoying having your girl home!! :))

  3. hello friend! i’ve been thinking of you – miss you! i don’t know how else to contact you except here. 🙂 hope you’re doing well~ xo

    • pettybunch says:

      I’m sorry I’m just now getting back to you!! I have been in Michigan with Pamela for a month (grandbaby #5 – Levi William!!) I’m working on a post, if I can just get it going! We’re doing well, lots going on. Love you, and so appreciate you thinking of me!

Leave a Reply

