Sisters, Grandkids, and a Full Life

The past week-plus has been so busy. Not that this is an unusual way of life for me, but it certainly felt busier than usual!  I definitely live a busy (sometimes too busy) life, but I’ve known for a long time that this is pretty much the norm for me. My sweet Mama always told me, “Nina, you’re going to make yourself sick!” And often, she was right.  I will occasionally find myself bedridden for a couple of days after a super busy period. This time, though, I seem to be hanging in there. Well, as much a 54 year old woman can, anyway!!

The beginning of my super-busyness was our annual Sisters Retreat. I am one of 4 blood-sisters (Bettye, Martha, myself, and Jeanne), and we have 2 sis-in-laws (Greta and Karla) that are just as much sisters to me, as well. Five of us were able to get together at Greta’s home, and oh, what a wonderful time it was!!!  You never heard so much talking, laughing, and perhaps even a tear or two as we shared our lives, our stories, our perspectives.  Because we have a 20 year range in our ages, we didn’t all grow up together.  We have, however, GROWN together as adults!  We’ve been through deaths, births, painful diagnoses…all those things life brings that either draws you close or tears you apart. We have chosen to draw closer! So I love spending time with my precious sisters, and I pray we will be able to do this for many, many years to come!!

Image

Our retreat ended on Saturday, and after a full day of church-related activities on Sunday (our pastor preached one of the best messages I’ve heard – or maybe it just truly ministered to me at the moment!), I had to run errands on a rainy Monday. My errands coincided with some errands Nathanael and Emily had to do, so I was able to watch the grandkids at Chick-fil-a for a long lunch. I loved being able to do that, because we rarely go anywhere during our usual 2 day-a-week visit. They love being at Nonnie’s house (can’t tell you how many times the little ones asked that day if we were going to Nonnie’s house!), and it’s just not easy for me, by myself, to get them all ready to go someplace where they all have to look neat and clean! They played on the playset until they got hungry, then they ate, and went back onto the playset.  They all had a blast, and I loved watching them climb and play and pretend! A special prize for this grandmother is that this particular play area didn’t really have space for adults to sit right with the kids; but I was able to sit right beside it on the other side of a glass window and watch them!! I could hear them somewhat, but they could yell and scream to their heart’s content and it didn’t overwhelm me!! So great!!

Bo and Emily met us after lunch, and after a bit of visiting, they took the kids, and I finished my errands. Part of my errand-running was gathering all the things I needed for Arulai’s Easter party, which she was having at my house on Wednesday.  She has been wanting to have a party, and it worked well for us to have an Easter party. It was busy, and I wanted to do too much, but I am SOOOOOO glad I did it!  Arulai painted and decorated all day!  When the kids woke up, we made cupcakes in flower pots; we made “stained-glass” crosses out of crushed, melted crayons and wax paper;  we made “resurrection rolls” with crescent rolls and marshmallows – my favorite, because we talked about Jesus dying, being buried, the oils and spices used in burial, and then He ROSE from the grave, leaving an empty tomb! It was wonderful to see Arulai’s eyes sparkle as we talked – the marshmallow (representing Jesus’ body) was covered in melted butter and rolled in cinnamon-sugar (oils and spices), then covered with the crescent roll, seams sealed completely.  After baking, the marshmallow was gone, leaving an empty roll (that was tasty with cinnamon-sweetness).  Arulai was amazed, and overjoyed at the symbolism!! Titus and Selah mostly enjoyed the process! 😉 Since I didn’t take pics, this is the link to the resurrection rolls directions:  http://thewillcuttgirls.blogspot.com/2010/04/resurrection-rolls.html

Emily was able to come a bit early to enjoy the “party” and our dear neighbor, Sheridan, came over to help Arulai with some of the projects. One of these projects, I had almost decided not to do, but Sheridan was up for helping with it, so they went ahead. I had placed a chocolate egg inside several water balloons and, blown up, they were in the shape of an egg.  Sheridan and Arulai wound them with colored yarn soaked in glue. They had to dry over night, so my plan is to take them over to the kids on Sunday so they can pop the balloons and see their yarn eggs with a candy inside.  Titus was completely enamored with the balloons, so I’m not sure that will carry over to the yarn eggs; however, I definitely know he will be intrigued with the candy inside, and will work diligently to get it out!!  My house is a wreck, but oh, the fun they had!!  I’ve given myself a morning in bed today, but will soon be cleaning up the clutter. As I do, though, I will be remembering the fun. I hope they will remember it, too!!

This afternoon is another of our many photo sessions of late.  Dannye has been WAY busy with her work at the daycare, and then photo work in the evenings.  Her eyes still bother her a lot, especially when she has this much editing to do. It’s been good, though, because she has about a week between sessions.  This weekend we get to do our oldest godson’s senior pics, and I can’t wait.  Allen is such a gentle, sweet guy, and I am searching for a really cool location to do his session.  We are all so proud of him, as he has really had to work hard to graduate due to his Asperger’s (a form of Autism).  He is STILL working hard!! (And so are his Dad and his grandmother!!) 😉

I’d better get off – this house won’t clean itself, and my hubby might just sneak in from work early today! What a blessing that would be, since he’s been out of town A LOT lately!!

God bless your day!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sisters, Grandkids, and a Full Life

  1. Jeanne says:

    I am so glad your Easter party went so well! I loved reading about it and AJ’s response. She will always remember the time you spent with her doing these things
    .

  2. amber says:

    your sisters retreat sounds like a perfectly wonderful time!! i get what you mean about not growing up together but having GROWN together as adults – that’s how i feel with my brothers, who yes, also have 20 years between us all!! :))

    you sound like such a fun grandma and i know your kiddos will cherish those memories~ whenever i hear stories like this i tuck a little mental note away that that’s the kind of grandma i want to be someday too!!

    glad to see you blogging again, friend. xo

Leave a Reply

