A Million Years…

Okay, so it’s only been 5 months. But, SERIOUSLY?? What is so challenging about what basically boils down to writing a letter a couple of times a month? Well, it must be – I’m sure not getting on here to write.

I’m still keeping my Texas grandkids a couple of days a week, although we’re down to two now. Arulai, our oldest, is going to school! I can scarcely grasp that she’s that old now, and if I weren’t so excited for the opportunity she’s been given, I would scarcely be able to tolerate how much I miss her! Bo and Emily have homeschooled her up until this year, but it was becoming so difficult, given the fact that Emily’s business simply EXPLODED this year! So they began looking into private schools – oh, so expensive!! Right before the school year began, we remembered a small Christian school that just happens to be within 1.5 miles of their home! It is run by friends of ours who were in our homeschool group back in OUR days of homeschooling. As a matter of fact, it is actually just an expansion of their own home school, very intimate, and much less expensive than other schools. I am beyond excited for Arulai, and probably more especially for Emily, because the burden of educating her girl was so very heavy on her shoulders! And Arulai just LOVES it! Every time we ask how school was today, she answers, “It was AWESOME!!!”

Arulai's first day of school

Arulai goes to school

My little man - he is still all Monster Trucks and Mud Buggies!

My little man – he is still all Monster Trucks and Mud Buggies!

Our littlest Texas Girl - she still has Nonnie's heart in a death grip!

Our littlest Texas Girl – she still has Nonnie’s heart in a death grip!

In other news, my sweet hubby is also going back to school! He began hearing good things about the career of Real Estate Inspector, and it is truly right up Bill’s alley as far as interests go! He registered for school on a Thursday in late August, and the very next day received a call from his brother about a Home Inspector friend of his looking for an apprentice! So, not only is Bill going to school, he is now working in the field for which he is schooling!! God is so good! Now Bill’s days are filled with work, study, photography, and grandkids. He’s worn to a frazzle, but he’s got a goal in mind, and is truly happier than he’s been in a long time!

Bill being funny (and hefting up those heavy books!) after registering for his schooling

Bill being funny (and hefting up those heavy books!) after registering for his schooling

We’ve also spent some of our summer working on Dannye’s house – our old mobile home. It needed complete new flooring, and that part is almost done. She will then be doing mostly cosmetic things like painting and carpeting. We are so looking forward to the day that she gets the go-ahead for her adoption of little Avalyn. We covet your prayers on that front!

The first workday at Dannye's house, with Bill, Nathanael, Michael (my nephew), and Elijah (Emily's brother).

The first workday at Dannye’s house, with Bill, Nathanael, Michael (my nephew), and Elijah (Emily’s brother).

Dan’s days have also been filled with our photography business, and I began a blog simply for that business. I enjoy doing it, especially because I love showing off their work. It’s called “The Not-So-Petty Blog,” and I’d love for you all to go over and take a look!

There is so much more to tell, but Dannye Reigh wants to go shopping this afternoon. She wants me ready when she gets off work, so I’d better get a move on! Please comment, even just a sentence or two, and let me know how you are all doing!!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Million Years…

  1. Donna says:

    So glad to see a blog from you! Those kiddos are adorable! I am so glad that school is working our for Arulai. And it looks like Bill is happy as can be. I’ll have to go check out the photography blog!

  2. Jeanne says:

    It HAS been.a million years! I already knew all your catch up news, but I’m glad you and Dan got to go shopping. Love you!

Leave a Reply

