Eustachian Tube Dysfunction…

There’s an episode of M*A*S*H in which a soldier has been given his discharge from the service, and is well-known for being a scavenger.  He is wanting to get out of flying home so he can make a great big haul from Korea on a ship:

Sgt. Kimble – “You know, I think flight-homewise I got a little problem, Doc, with my ear.  I’ve got chronic adhesive otitis with Eustachian tube dysfunction.”

B. J. Honeycutt –  [Chuckling] How do you know that?

Sgt. Kimble –  “A lucky guess and a little research.”
B.J. – How long have you had this?

Kimble – I caught it the second I read about it.
B.J. – Your ears will hurt if you fly. Right?

Kimble – Bad.

Well, I’m not planning on flying anywhere (thank goodness!) but I definitely have some kind of issue with my Eustachian tube!!  I’ve had this issue before, but never quite as bad as this.

For months, I’ve had a problem with the very back of my throat on the right side. I didn’t know what the problem was, but I would cough and cough, but never really get to the source of the itch or pain or whatever it was. Drainage? I don’t know! But what began as seemingly a throat problem is now from right ear to back of throat, with pain radiating EVERY DIRECTION!! I sleep with a cough drop (or 10) in my mouth. My teeth are going to rot out of my head!!

This morning I awoke with the hope of it being better. Maybe it is. The pain isn’t so bad this minute, but then, I did take 4 Ibuprofen awhile ago.  I might should go to the doctor, but there are lots of issues with that thought right now, so I’m counting on prayer, Hall’s Mentholyptus cough drops, Nyquil, and Ibuprofen!

In the meantime, I didn’t get to have my grandkids this week because of this sickness!  I miss them so much when I have to go this long without seeing them! Selah is in the throws of potty training, and while it isn’t the easiest thing to deal with, I was loving the successes she was having! She was so proud of herself, and wouldn’t let me empty her potty until she could show Nee-Nee!  Titus was proud of her, too. It was so much fun to see their excitement! Indeed, I miss them!

2014-07-12 Maelynn First Birthday 585 Nonnie and Selah

151

These are some photos of Arulai’s “Frozen” camp. She had the BEST time, as they learned character lessons from the movie “Frozen,” and then acted and sang in an adapted version of the movie.  My heart just about burst with joy for this little girl – she LOVES drama and play-acting! Oh, and singing!!

2014-08-01 Arulai's SHOW! 036

2014-08-01 Arulai's SHOW! 047

2014-08-01 Arulai's SHOW! 069

After the show was over, the children all got to meet Elsa and Anna, main characters from the movie. They were THRILLED!

Bill has finished the first 90 hours course work toward his Home Inspector license! It has been HARD work for my hands-on, fall-asleep-if-he-sits-still hubby!! There is still a lot more book work, but he gets to begin the labs now, which he will love. The work he is doing as an Inspector’s Helper has him excited about this career, and he thoroughly enjoys his boss.  I’m still so amazed at the Lord’s hand in providing this apprenticing job!  Amazed, and so, so grateful!

We’re gearing up for our busy month, October. We have 2 family events that are set in stone (or perhaps blood!!) – the Annual Allen Family Reunion on the first weekend, and our annual family vacation/homeschool camping trip in Glen Rose on the third weekend.  We’ve hit a bump in the road for these two events – we’ve always had access to Bill’s folks camper trailer for our trips. Recently, due to Mrs. Petty’s frailty, they sold their camper. We aren’t sure now how things will play out. We do know we will be at the family reunion, however we manage to sleep.

Glen Rose is not so sure. I’m really frustrated about that trip, because I’ve been working really hard this year to get our younger members of the Home School group excited about the camp out.  It has meant a great deal to our family in the scheme of homeschooling, as far as support and friendships, not to mention the education and spiritual blessings we’ve received from Dr. Carl Baugh and the Creation Evidences Museum!! So, anyway, we were all (the homeschool group that are coming) going to meet at one of the campsites for potluck and “met and greet” time, and after all my organizing, we may not even get to go! I know the Lord has it all in His hands, so I am truly letting Him work it all out. He knows whether or not the group even needs me there!

Glen Rose 1

This Saturday, and a Friday in October, we are shooting some Fall mini-sessions. I had the best time putting our set together!  I used to be really crafty, but haven’t done much in the way of crafts in quite a number of years. I knew what I wanted for our sessions, and I was so, so grateful when my son and his brother-in-law came over to make my plans a reality!  Nathanael had hurt his back, so Elijah did pretty much all the hands-on stuff while Nathanael and I gave input and supervised.  I had wanted a “stand” – e.g. lemonade stand, kissing booth, or in this case, a pumpkin stand.  The guys (and Grace, E.J.’s friend) captured my idea perfectly, and it is wonderful!! What used to be our school cabinet has now been transformed into a beautiful Pumpkin Stand! I just love it!

Fall Mini-Sessions (1500 x 762)

I was pretty timid about doing the chalkboard, but it turned out pretty nice. I recovered my grandfather’s old stool (I left his last upholstery job intact – it was a 1977 cloth calendar turned upholstery fabric!), and I also made a beautiful wreath for my project. Sad to say, I forgot to put the wreath on it, but I don’t think it needs it, do you?  Molly and Charlie seemed to think it was okay!

Fall dogs

Bill just got home, so I’d better get off here. He’s doing some outdoor projects real quick before he comes in for the evening, but that will be sooner than later. It’s beginning to get dark much earlier than even just last week, so he won’t stay out long.  We’re grateful for the tad-bit cooler weather this week – I’m not longing for the cold, but do love these days when the high is only in the 80s!!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eustachian Tube Dysfunction…

  1. Jeanne says:

    I am so sad that your problem isn’t any better and I hate the thought of your family missing the Glen Rose trip! I hope you feel better soon.
    P.S. I love what you’ve done with the stand!

  2. Jenny says:

    Praying for you right now. So sorry you are sick and hurting. We toughed out a few illnesses in the past, and now I am on longterm antibiotics for systemic infection in my body. So if you think this is infection, do see a doctor, a short course is so much better. On the more holistic side 🙂 Vit. C is a a miracle in healing the body, you can take many multiples of 1,000 milligrams up to when it makes you too loose.My other go-to supplement is by Irwin Naturals and is called Immuno-Shield All Season Wellness. It has a mix of vitamins and herbs and really gets rid of germs. I keep it on hand all the time now, and it really helps when I am fighting something, so I don’t always get sick.
    You can find it online or at a healthfood store.
    Hugs and Love to you!

Leave a Reply

