A Different Kind of Encouragement

After a weekend of family reunion-ing, sleeping on a different bed, and doing a little kitchen/cleaning work, my body was ACHING by the time we got home yesterday! I’m overweight, I’m a veritable couch-potato, and I am no spring chicken anymore, all of which contributed to my problem.

As I visited with family this weekend, there was discussion of our aches and pains, our abilities and inabilities; and I realized that I was often the youngest one talking about my aches and pains – younger by 8, 10, even 20 years!! And then, one of my nephews (you know who you are!) reminded me that I am one of the “Matriarchs” – one of the oldest generation. Yet, I am probably the youngest of that generation that was there.

I’m saying all of that to say that if I don’t make some changes in lifestyle, I will not only be in that generation because of birth order; I will be there because of premature aging and becoming decrepit!!

So this morning, I got off my bottom (tushy, Titus!), got my walking shoes on, and went outside for a good walk! I didn’t walk quite a mile, but I will…and more! I know I’ve got to get these old joints moving, or they won’t. I’ve got to get some of this weight off, too. I had determination this morning, and I’m asking the Lord for determination tomorrow, and the next day, and so on. I know I’ll never do it on my own!!

So, I’m hoping that next year, after the last table is put away, and the last dish washed, and the car loaded up for home, I will NOT be complaining of stiff and aching joints, but will be ready and able to UNLOAD when I get home!!

God bless your day – He surely has mine!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Different Kind of Encouragement

  1. Good thoughts, there Pettybunch. I went on line yesterday and looked up balance exercises for the elderly. Uh-huh! Well, it seems like my balance has been off more than a little here recently and I’ve had some falls that could have been bad — but weren’t, thank God. I could make some funny stories, but I don’t feel very funny right now. Thanks for your comment. Surely do appreciate it. And I will ponder this post. I think God has some serious business for me to get started on. Ugh! Discipline. so needed and so good for us but I’m such a slow learner!

    • pettybunch says:

      Mary Ann, we are definitely in this together! Discipline has never been my strong suite, and age/physical limitations make that character flaw even worse!
      I read about a couple of your falls, and I know just what you mean there, too. My children call me “the one who falls down a lot” and it’s not without some truth!!
      Thank you for your comment, and for “following” my new blog – so different from Xanga, but I’m trying to adjust!
      Blessings~
      Janina (Nina)

  2. thegreatfish says:

    I am in the same place as you. I have put on weight, and have not been able to exercise because of school and work. I am going to go on a walk today. You are an encouragement to me.

Leave a Reply

