Mother’s Day, and it’s progression in my life

My mother was amazing.  Mama ran a taut ship, yet came out to our playhouse for tea on occasion. She made our clothes, made doll clothes, kept her house immaculate, and would often come out to clean our playhouse. She cooked wonderful meals, baked amazing goodies, gardened and canned. She was the complete mother package: lovely, fashionable, caring, orderly, disciplined – June Cleaver, plus some!

The Allens go to church, circa 1963?

The Allens go to church, circa 1963?

Mother’s Day was a beautiful day in my young life. We dressed up in our Sunday best, and Mama always had a beautiful corsage, Daddy wore a boutonniere, and made sure we had little corsages and boutonnieres; and the color of them was important: red or pink indicated that your mother was living, while white gave memorial to a Mother already gone to heaven. I loved this tradition, and loved the opportunity to wear a corsage! It was so special.

My beautiful babies!

My beautiful babies!

When I became a mother, Mother’s Day was even more special! I loved honoring my own Mama, and I loved teaching my children the old traditions. I especially enjoyed the love my own husband and children showed ME on this day! I was very little like my own mother – while I did sew for myself and my kids, and loved dressing us all up, that is where the similarities to Mama ended! I have never been a great cook, it takes all the effort I can muster to have a semi-orderly house, I definitely didn’t run a taut ship (although I was pretty strong in the discipline of my children), and if we were counting on living off what I raised in a garden, we would have starved to death a long time ago!! But, despite my shortcomings, my husband and children seemed to take joy in loving me! I LOVED being a mom, and Mother’s Day was a beautiful way of celebrating that!!

218472790

Me and my Mama – I suspect this was Christmas in July, 2010, but I’m not certain.

Eventually, my children grew up and left the nest – absolutely the most difficult part of motherhood for me so far! At the same time, my own Mama’s health was beginning to fail, so the focus went back to the preciousness of my own mother, and the frailty of her life. The day soon came that I had to change out my pink corsages for white. And while I still love to wear them, it is so bittersweet. Mama spends her Mother’s Days in heaven now, a beautifully comforting thought; yet I miss her so very much!

My adult

My adult “babies.”

All of

All of “my” adult kids.

Bill, me, and all our GRANDS!! (At least, all so far! One is due to make an appearance at the end of August!)

Bill, me, and all our GRANDS!! (At least, all so far! One is due to make an appearance at the end of August!)

And here's the whole lot of us!

And here’s the whole lot of us!

As the cycle continues, I am now in the grandmothering stage! I LOVE being a grandmother (Nonnie to my grands)!  I believe it is an extension of motherhood, and a job I take very seriously. My nature is well-suited to grandmotherhood – I can love on them, play with them, tell them about Jesus, but not worry so much about my lack of skill in cooking, cleaning, discipline, and gardening! And I can teach them about Mothers, and how amazing their own moms are!

Happy Mother’s Day!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day, and it’s progression in my life

  1. Donna says:

    Such a special post! May God bless you this Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

