I Am Resolved

There’s an old hymn that I grew up singing and loving. I hope you will read the words to this song, and if you know the tune, sing along!

I am Resolved

I hear a lot about resolutions this time of year, and much of what I hear is the many reasons that folks don’t believe in them. Because of my nature, I have to say that I am not against those who are against resolutions; however, also because of my nature, I have to say that I am not one of those folks!

In June of 2015, I felt that I was at a crisis point in my health, mostly due to my obesity. (I know, obesity is a very strong word, and so many of you gracious friends and family would never have used this word for me. Perhaps a little chubby, or maybe fluffy. But never OBESE. But even at my height and saying I have a “large frame,” I was at the very least 85 lbs overweight! That is OBESE!)

So, anyway, back to my crisis point. I knew that I needed help in my weight loss journey, and we simply couldn’t afford for me to go somewhere for this help. I began praying. I asked the Lord to help me. I knew that he wasn’t going to simply take the pounds off, nor was he going to take away all temptations from in front of me. I didn’t know HOW he was going to help me, but I knew that I was doomed to obesity without his help!

I gathered all I needed to get back on a diet plan I had used successfully 15 years ago, and prayed. A LOT! And I was surprised at the way God answered those prayers. Rather than doing any of the things above, what God did was to fill my heart and mind with RESOLVE. I felt RESOLVED to eat the right foods; RESOLVED to drink my copious amounts of water; and RESOLVED to withstand all the temptations that were around me!

I didn’t conjure up that RESOLVE; I know that it came from the Lord! When Bill ate his Bluebell icecream every evening, it seriously did not bother me. When I visited Pamela and her family for an extended stay, I encouraged them to eat what they normally would, and they did. I was truly not bothered by the desserts or those wonderful breads and cinnamon rolls because the RESOLVE the Lord gave me held! (It was so funny to sit at the table with different foods than the rest of the family had at times. Chloe’s constant refrain was, “Nonnie, what you having?” She especially loved to share Nonnie’s boiled shrimp! She did NOT want to share Nonnie’s boiled okra!)

From June through November, I determined to stay focused – again, with RESOLVE that came from the Lord. I allowed myself Thanksgiving Day, and a few days during Christmas, for some cheat days. I am so grateful that I never gained any weight during those 2 months (I have lost 44 pounds to date), and even more grateful that the Lord continued to answer my prayers!

As we come to this new year, I have renewed my prayers to the Lord for his help in my weight loss journey; I have also expanded those prayers to other areas of my life. If – as in the words of the song above – I were resolved no longer to linger in the world’s delights, and dwell on higher, nobler things; if I were resolved to leave my sin and strife, and go to the Saviour, who has the Words of life, and is faithful and true each day; if I heeded his words, do what he wills; if I were resolved to be taught by the Bible, led by the Spirit? How would that impact my life? How would my life impact others for Christ?

 I pray the Lord will give me the same RESOLVE he has given for this weight loss, to every area of my life; that I may glorify Him, and be well pleasing to Him!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 34 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SIX grandchildren: three precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Resolved

  1. Jeanne says:

    This just blessed me beyond words, Janina. God’s work in your life is an encouragement to me to seek that same resolve. I love you so much and am so glad that you are having this success.

Leave a Reply

