Valuable, but small

One of my all-time favorite movies is “You’ve Got Mail.” It’s a very laid back movie, a redo, actually, of the old movie “Shop Around the Corner,” which starred Jimmy Stewart. The newer version stars Tom Hanks (probably my favorite current actor) and Meg Ryan. The movies’ plots are not the point of my writing today, but in “You’ve Got Mail,” Meg Ryan’s character is writing to Tom Hanks’ character via email, whom she met online, but has never met in person. She says, “Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life – well, valuable, but small…”

This has been the byline of my blog since my Xanga days. I DO lead a small life – I’m not anybody, really, in any sense of being a Somebody, except within my small life. That’s what makes my life valuable, at least to me.

I was telling Dannye Reigh (our eldest daughter) just today how valuable our lives are. We were floating in our neighborhood pool, just the two of us, on this beautiful (if hot) summer day, watching a hawk soar lazily just below the puffy clouds in the sky, listening to the blue jays squawk at each other, and I thought, “You know, we. have. so. much!”

My precious hubby is out on the road far away from home, providing for our life! Recently, I was making a payment on a bill, and the fellow behind the desk was telling me that with “just a paystub,” I could get a loan for so much money, etc., etc. I told him that I actually don’t HAVE a paystub, because I don’t work outside the home. He was a bit shocked when I told him that for over 34 years, Bill Petty has worked hard to give me the pleasure of staying home, if I so choose. That is valuable to me!

My family, beginning with my kids and grandkids, as well as my dear siblings and their kids, Bill’s siblings and their kids, and even reaching out to uncles, aunts, cousins, and beyond…we are part of this huge family that love each other and love being together. That is WAY valuable to me!!

Friends. I have friends that have loved me for such a long time. Friends I don’t even get to see very often, but every so often I receive a FB message, a text, a phone call – or even better – a visit from a friend who simply wants to say “I love you.” That is SO valuable to me!

Just this morning, I was reminded again of the most valuable aspect of my life, and that is the love and care of my Heavenly Father. As I said, Bill is on the road again, and has been gone quite a bit this summer. I miss him desperately when he’s gone, but I do try to “keep my chin up.” However, I found myself feeling pretty down this morning, and the song that’s been on my head for a week wasn’t helping any. (Jasmine Thompson’s cover of “Like I’m Gonna Lose You.” – Beautiful love song!!)

So, as I got my Bible out this morning, I decided I’d better listen to some praise music while reading. My Bible Study right now is from Felicity Bee’s Inscribe the Word series, and this month’s theme is Worship; so, finding worship songs is not too difficult, for sure! Being a teen in the 70s, and finding Christian radio in the very early 80s, some of my very favorite praise music is from the Maranatha Singers, and YouTube has a plethora of their recordings.

July Psalm 68

I was so very grateful to hear Psalms sung as I wrote out “Let God arise, let his enemies be scattered…” and “God setteth the solitary in families…” It was like a balm to my soul, and it was IMMENSELY valuable to me! (It was even more meaningful when the hummingbirds began playing in the water sprinkler, a blue jay came to sing near where I was sitting on my porch, a praying mantis climbed up beside me, and the Broadwing hawk joined in, making me think of the verse, Let all creation rejoice before the LORD, for he comes.” Psalm 96:13)

Yes, my life is small: we don’t have a lot, I have no claim to fame or popularity, and I certainly don’t have any power to speak of; yet, I am loved. I am needed. I am content. My life is valuable, not only to me, but amazingly, my life is valuable to my family, my friends, and my Heavenly Father. (You know what? YOURS is, too!!)

I love my life

God Bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

