The Hawk

Broadwing Hawk 4

I briefly mentioned in my previous post that we have a hawk. Well, we don’t actually HAVE him, but he circles above our property all day long. We live right amongst the Sam Houston National Forest, so we’ve always had our share of critters, including various kinds of hawks; however, as far as I know, we’ve never had this type of hawk near our home. He is a Broadwing Hawk, and has the most distinctive call! I wish I could share a clip of his call, but I can’t find one that will share. It’s a beautiful, yet piercing, drawn out whistle. As a matter of fact, at first we thought it might be a Blue Jay (they are known to mock this call), but it was a much prettier sound than a Blue Jay has. And, obviously, these pictures were taken from the internet, because my photography skills are terribly lacking, and my live-in photographer is on the road a lot lately!!

Broadwing Hawk 3

Anyway, creatures and creation have always touched me deeply, always causing me to praise the God of creation. I think my Nana (my maternal grandmother) planted that deep within me, along with my Aunt Johnnie. They both loved to see the amazing work of the Creator, and always shared their amazement with us kids.

 

Broadwing Hawk 1

God asks in Job 39:26, “Doth the hawk fly by thy wisdom, and stretch her wings toward the south?”

 

Yesterday, Dr. Jobe Martin was teaching at our church. He uses God’s creation to teach and share the Gospel with people all over the world. He knows so.much.stuff. about animals, fish, plants…and his awe of the Creator of all things is so contagious!!

So, this morning, as I got up and sat on my beloved porch as my precious Lovey was leaving for the day, I listened to the Broadwing Hawk as he called to HIS lovey. The male’s call is an octave lower than the female’s call, and I’ve heard both. Dannye Reigh actually got to see two birds. I read that they are only in our area for migration purposes, but I hope that’s not the case – I love that beautiful call! But as I also read that they migrate in kettles, or flocks, I can imagine that would be an AMAZING sight to see!!

hawk-kettlea1aa

God bless your day – He’s already blessed mine!!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

